The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 15, 2011, 12:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Sounds like we're all in violent agreement.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 15, 2011, 12:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,230
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
Sounds like we're all in violent agreement.
I guess my question is, who decides their part of the penalty enforcement first? Isn't it Team A since they would have the ball as result of the play (minus the penalties)?

-Josh
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 15, 2011, 12:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 11
You go in the order of how they happened. Start with B's captain for the IF penalty, then go to A's captain for the BIB penalty.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 15, 2011, 12:49pm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 391
Quote:
Originally Posted by KS_Blue View Post
You go in the order of how they happened. Start with B's captain for the IF penalty, then go to A's captain for the BIB penalty.
You're right, but for the wrong reasons. The team last in possession gets the first choice. Since "B" had team possession when the ball became dead, they get the first choice. (10-2-2)
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 15, 2011, 01:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 11
My bad. For some reason I was linking this to the enforcement of dead ball fouls. Probably don't want to do that...
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 16, 2011, 12:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 321
I also have to change my mind on changing my mind. If B's BIB ends up being accepted, the enforcement spot is the 20, not the spot of the foul. Basic spot for enforcement after a touchback is the 20. It's a defensive foul (since A has the ball now), so enforcement is from the basic spot.

I pledge to not change my mind again, but I reserve the right to rescind this change of mind.

SO WHAT'S THE CORRECT ANSWER, ALREADY!!!!!!!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 16, 2011, 01:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
The correct answer has been posted in numerous formats.

1. The result of the play is a touchback.
2. B gets first choice of penalty acceptance, since they were last in possession.
3. They will accept the IF penalty, which results automatically in a double foul, and we'll replay the down.
4. If B foolishly declines the penalty for A's foul, A gets a choice and will accept the BIB penalty: 10 yards from the basic spot, which is the A20 after the touchback, so 1/10 for A from the A30.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 16, 2011, 02:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
4. If B foolishly declines the penalty for A's foul, A gets a choice and will accept the BIB penalty: 10 yards from the basic spot, which is the A20 after the touchback, so 1/10 for A from the A30.
I don't know if I would say foolishly. The OP never says where the ball was snapped from. If A snapped the ball from B's 10, then I think that I would be declining the IF penalty.
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 16, 2011, 02:14pm
CT1 CT1 is offline
Official & ***** Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,049
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
The correct answer has been posted in numerous formats.

1. The result of the play is a touchback.
2. B gets first choice of penalty acceptance, since they were last in possession.
3. They will accept the IF penalty, which results automatically in a double foul, and we'll replay the down.
4. If B foolishly declines the penalty for A's foul, A gets a choice and will accept the BIB penalty: 10 yards from the basic spot, which is the A20 after the touchback, so 1/10 for A from the A30.
If wouldn't be so foolish for B to accept the penalty if the play started at the B10.
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 16, 2011, 02:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by CT1 View Post
If wouldn't be so foolish for B to accept the penalty if the play started at the B10.
Tired of being wrong on the other thread, decided to try to be wrong here too? Oops.

Wanna get away?
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 18, 2011, 12:56pm
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
Wouldn't the for B's foul be enforced under all but one since they were the offense at the time of the foul? I don't see how A can accept the penalty for B's foul and keep the ball.
__________________
Even if youre on the right track, youll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers

Last edited by Welpe; Sun Sep 18, 2011 at 01:01pm.
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 18, 2011, 08:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Welpe View Post
Wouldn't the for B's foul be enforced under all but one since they were the offense at the time of the foul? I don't see how A can accept the penalty for B's foul and keep the ball.
Meh. I think you're right.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 19, 2011, 01:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 622
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
The correct answer has been posted in numerous formats.

1. The result of the play is a touchback.
2. B gets first choice of penalty acceptance, since they were last in possession.
3. They will accept the IF penalty, which results automatically in a double foul, and we'll replay the down.
4. If B foolishly declines the penalty for A's foul, A gets a choice and will accept the BIB penalty: 10 yards from the basic spot, which is the A20 after the touchback, so 1/10 for A from the A30.
B's foul occurred during a running play. The basic spot is the end of the run, not the touchback. The touchback is the succeeding spot which is where the ball would be next snapped if a foul had not occurred (2-41-10)

1. The result of the play is a TB.
2. B gets first choice since they got the ball with clean hands.
3. If B accepts the IF: we have a double foul.
4. If B declines the IF: we then give A their choice of accepting or declining.
5. If A accepts the IBB the foul is marked off under ABO.
6. If A declines, we have two declined fouls and the result is the TB, A gets a new series as any team does following a TB.

The only logical choice for B is to accept the IF and replay the down. 10-2-2.

Last edited by kdf5; Mon Sep 19, 2011 at 01:16pm.
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 21, 2011, 02:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 81
I think we almost have it.

1. The result of the play is a TB.
2. B gets first choice since they got the ball with clean hands.
3. If B accepts the IF: we have a double foul, if A accepts the BIB. Replay the down.
4. If B declines the IF: we then give A their choice of accepting or declining.
5. If A accepts the BIB the foul is marked off under ABO using the 20 yardline because the result of the play was a touchdown. However, B would get the ball 1st and 10 at the 30 because no foul causes loss of possession!
6. If A declines, we have two declined fouls and the result is the TB, A gets a new series as any team does following a TB.
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 21, 2011, 02:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Plymouth, MN
Posts: 741
Send a message via Yahoo to MNBlue
Quote:
Originally Posted by kdf5 View Post
B's foul occurred during a running play. The basic spot is the end of the run, not the touchback. The touchback is the succeeding spot which is where the ball would be next snapped if a foul had not occurred (2-41-10)

1. The result of the play is a TB.
2. B gets first choice since they got the ball with clean hands.
3. If B accepts the IF: we have a double foul.
4. If B declines the IF: we then give A their choice of accepting or declining.
5. If A accepts the IBB the foul is marked off under ABO.
6. If A declines, we have two declined fouls and the result is the TB, A gets a new series as any team does following a TB.

The only logical choice for B is to accept the IF and replay the down. 10-2-2.
Probably depends on the position of the previous spot. Previouse down and distance might matter as well.
__________________
Mark

NFHS, NCAA, NAFA
"If the rule you followed brought you to this, of what use was the rule?" Anton Chigurh - "No Country for Old Men"
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Enforcement During OT Redneck Ref Football 3 Thu Nov 12, 2009 10:30pm
Right Enforcement? kytank Football 61 Sun Oct 04, 2009 08:04am
Enforcement mvp2jeter Football 9 Fri Oct 01, 2004 10:44am
Is this a PSK Enforcement? jrfath Football 5 Fri Sep 03, 2004 05:31pm
PSK Enforcement Bubba10Dara Football 8 Wed Oct 01, 2003 03:26pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:02pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1