![]() |
ND/UM fumble and touchdown question
NCAA rules (of course!)
Correct me if any of my details are incorrect... I believe this was the first play of the 4th quarter. UM 4/G at the one. A1 hands off to A2. A2 runs into the line and fumbles short of the GL. A1 (the QB) picks up the ball off the turf and runs it in for a TD. Thought there was a 4th down (or 4th quarter?) fumble rule under NCAA rules? Any and all comments welcome. |
NCAA does have a fourth down fumble rule....
The play you mentioned at the beginning of the 4th quarter occurred on 3rd and goal. |
This Rule 7-2-2 Exception 2.
If it was 4th down (not 4th quarter) then only the player that fumbled can recover and advance the ball. If anyone on Team A recovers the ball then the ball would be dead on the recovery. Peace |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:19am. |