![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
No, I was not joking. Did you see any humor in my questions? How many times should an official signal the clock to stop, once, twice, three or infinitive number of times above the head? Same goes for when a pass play is incomplete, how many times should the official cross his arms when signaling, once, twice, three times? If the offensive player(s) line up in the neutral zone, what is the proper mechanic for such penalty issued by Referee? Is it an encroachment signal or illegal procedure signal? |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
|
|||
|
Quote:
I found the answer but it is in an older 2008-2009 NFHS Football Officials Manual. On page 17, Stopping, Starting and Winding the Clock; Stop clock (giving proper signal twice). This procedure may have changed in current 2010-2011 manual. |
|
||||
|
Quote:
We don't need to consult a manual for everything we do out on the field. Encroachment is encroachment, whether the foul is on the offense or defense. It's the hands on hips signal and it can be used against either team. |
|
|||
|
Yes he does... he's never been on the field.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
![]() Maybe you're not a football official. It is encroachment if any player from either team enters the neutral zone between the ready-for-play and the snap. Most officials will talk players out of encroachment if they can, and if they can't they'll flag it, if they do, just before the snap.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
|
Quote:
When the offense commits the encroachment penalty, what is the correct signal to use? Do you signal dead ball "False Start" or dead ball "Encroachment"? Will an official have time to warn, communicate to player(s) from lining up in the neutral zone if the snap has already occurred? Such as a quick snap or hurry up offensives plays, then you are saying look the other way and do not call the penalty? |
|
|||
|
They got rid of illegal procedure about 5 years ago.
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Stopping the clock | eroombill | Football | 3 | Fri Sep 24, 2010 01:05pm |
| Stopping the clock? | Spence | Football | 8 | Thu Oct 22, 2009 08:01am |
| Stopping the Clock | donaldm4 | Football | 7 | Sun Jan 04, 2004 06:24pm |
| Stopping the clock | coachmac43 | Basketball | 11 | Tue Feb 04, 2003 04:10am |
| Stopping the clock | White hat9 | Football | 29 | Tue Dec 31, 2002 10:15am |