The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 11, 2011, 12:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Kirkland, Washington
Posts: 422
Send a message via ICQ to Jim S Send a message via AIM to Jim S
If A fumbles this becomes a loose ball play. If A accepts enforcement from the previous spot. 15 yards to the B25 1 & 10.

If the receiver is downed before the contact you have a dead ball foul. March 15 from the subsequent spot. 1 & 10 from the B15. If the contact is before the receiver is downed, you probably have a roughing the passer call against B. 15 yards from the end of the play. 1 & 10 from the B15.
If you don't think it was roughing the passer then you still have a D foul and the enforcement spot is the basic spot, in this case the B 30, and you STILL have 1 & 10 @ the B15.

As far as "was it flagrant", was it flagrant? What I'm looking for is did the player intend to inflict punishment? Could he have stopped? Did he come all the way in with his head down or lower it at the last to make that contact?
__________________
Jim Schroeder

Read Rule 2, Read Rule 2, Read Rule 2!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 11, 2011, 03:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Glad you brought this up, Rev.

Friday night, the RB took a handoff and was almost immediately met by a DE with his head lowered and eyes looking at the ground. The top of his helmet made a direct hit to the side of the RB's helmet. I flagged the DE for IHC. If I had to guess, I would bet the defensive coach is somewhere, still b!tching about the call.

With all the POE's, news releases, clinics, and information being sent out, are officials still refusing to make this call?
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 11, 2011, 08:31am
CT1 CT1 is offline
Official & ***** Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,049
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef View Post
Friday night, the RB took a handoff and was almost immediately met by a DE with his head lowered and eyes looking at the ground. The top of his helmet made a direct hit to the side of the RB's helmet. I flagged the DE for IHC.
Please send the clip to BJ.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 11, 2011, 11:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim S View Post
If you don't think it was roughing the passer then you still have a D foul and the enforcement spot is the basic spot, in this case the B 30, and you STILL have 1 & 10 @ the B15.
Right: if the pass is over before the illegal contact, this should not be RTP, but still could be a PF. If that's when the foul occurred, it would be during a running play, making the basic spot the end of the run.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Illegal Helmet Contact waltjp Football 18 Thu May 17, 2012 10:14am
Helmet to Helmet contact john_faz Football 12 Sat Sep 17, 2011 10:47pm
Helmet contact / LSU vs. Miss. State l3will Football 13 Sun Sep 02, 2007 02:44am
Illegal Helmet Contact Stripe Football 8 Fri Nov 10, 2006 01:50pm
Illegal Helmet Contact mikesears Football 16 Tue Jan 06, 2004 06:35pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:10pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1