The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Correct ruling? (https://forum.officiating.com/football/80172-correct-ruling.html)

cubes32 Tue Sep 06, 2011 04:53pm

Correct ruling?
 
Saturday we had the following occur in our game. Offense scores on a running play. There was a block in the back 15 yards behind the runner. The foul was determined to be flagrant on the offending offensive player, and the offensive player was ejected. However, the touchdown was allowed and the penalty was enforced on the kickoff, moving the spot of the kick back 15 yards to the 25 yard line. Was this call administered properly?

CT1 Tue Sep 06, 2011 04:58pm

Assuming the BiB was before the runner crossed the goal line, it must be enforced from the spot of the foul. Replay the down, unless enforcement leaves A beyond the line-to-gain.

The option to take penalty yardage on the ensuing kickoff only applies if it's by the opponent of the scoring team.

One more thing -- a "block in the back" that rises to the level of "flagrant" is actually a personal foul.

bisonlj Tue Sep 06, 2011 04:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by cubes32 (Post 786034)
Saturday we had the following occur in our game. Offense scores on a running play. There was a block in the back 15 yards behind the runner. The foul was determined to be flagrant on the offending offensive player, and the offensive player was ejected. However, the touchdown was allowed and the penalty was enforced on the kickoff, moving the spot of the kick back 15 yards to the 25 yard line. Was this call administered properly?

Yes if the illegal block was after the TD scored or so close you couldn't determine which happened first. If the block occurred at the 50 while the runner was the 35, then it's a live ball foul enforced from the spot of the foul per ABO.

JugglingReferee Tue Sep 06, 2011 08:10pm

Canadian Ruling
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by cubes32 (Post 786034)
Saturday we had the following occur in our game. Offense scores on a running play. There was a block in the back 15 yards behind the runner. The foul was determined to be flagrant on the offending offensive player, and the offensive player was ejected. However, the touchdown was allowed and the penalty was enforced on the kickoff, moving the spot of the kick back 15 yards to the 25 yard line. Was this call administered properly?

CANADIAN RULING:

It sounds as though the foul occurred before the score. The score will not count.

The foul is a Rough Play penalty, and is 25 yards. If the LTG was already reached at the time of the foul, go back 25 yards from Point Ball Held, 1st down. If the LTG was not already reached at the time of the foul, go back 25 yards from the Point of Last Scrimmage, and repeat the down.

Team B could allow the score, but why would they do that? If they did choose this silly option, enforce the penalty on the convert or on the ensuing kick-off in the same quarter, or in the next quarter if at the end of a quarter, or into OT if the score ties the game at the end of the 4th quarter.

The player is disqualified. This is one of few penalties that cannot be declined in the Canadian game.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:14am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1