The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Enforcement of Defensive Holding/Illegal Use of Hands (https://forum.officiating.com/football/80152-enforcement-defensive-holding-illegal-use-hands.html)

rhhudson Tue Sep 06, 2011 10:41am

Enforcement of Defensive Holding/Illegal Use of Hands
 
If a defensive player committs defensive holding on an eligible receiver and the pass is never thrown, therefore a running play, where is the enforcement spot. Someone on my crew said spot of the foul, but I just dont think this could be right. Could someone please answer this and let me know where in the book I would find it? NFHS by the way.

Thanks

BktBallRef Tue Sep 06, 2011 10:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rhhudson (Post 785959)
If a defensive player committs defensive holding on an eligible receiver and the pass is never thrown, therefore a running play, where is the enforcement spot. Someone on my crew said spot of the foul, but I just dont think this could be right. Could someone please answer this and let me know where in the book I would find it? NFHS by the way.

An All But One foul by the defense during a running play is ALWAYS penalized from the end of the run.

As for where it's found, it's under the ABO principle.

mbyron Tue Sep 06, 2011 11:29am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rhhudson (Post 785959)
Could someone please answer this and let me know where in the book I would find it? NFHS by the way.

All-but-one is rule 10-6:
"Unless otherwise listed in Section 4 and 5, a penalty for a foul occurring during
a play is enforced from the basic spot with the exception of a foul by the offense
which occurs behind the basic spot during a loose ball play or running play. This
particular foul is enforced from the spot of the foul."

rhhudson Tue Sep 06, 2011 02:27pm

Thanks

JugglingReferee Tue Sep 06, 2011 03:19pm

Canadian Ruling
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by rhhudson (Post 785959)
If a defensive player committs defensive holding on an eligible receiver and the pass is never thrown, therefore a running play, where is the enforcement spot. Someone on my crew said spot of the foul, but I just dont think this could be right. Could someone please answer this and let me know where in the book I would find it? NFHS by the way.

Thanks

CANADIAN RULING:

10 yards from the PLS. 1D if the LTG is reached.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:30am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1