The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   "Dead ball, personal foul, fair catch interference..." (https://forum.officiating.com/football/79648-dead-ball-personal-foul-fair-catch-interference.html)

BktBallRef Sun Aug 28, 2011 12:57pm

"Dead ball, personal foul, fair catch interference..."
 
Is there such a thing? :rolleyes:

Jim S Sun Aug 28, 2011 02:01pm

I can't see how. In order to have KCI you must have a kick. A down starts with a snap (for a scrimmage kick) or a free kick. Don't get caught in the fact that because the clock doesn't start on a free kick until the ball is legally touched that the ball is not live. All fouls after the kick are live ball fouls although they may have occured while the clock was not running.

BktBallRef Sun Aug 28, 2011 04:46pm

Nor can I. But that's what I heard a referee announce in one of the games I watched on ESPN today.

golfdesigner Sun Aug 28, 2011 07:46pm

Dead Ball, Personal Foul, KCI....Huh?
 
I heard same thing, I think they kind of booted the announcement. I saw the play, looked like the fair catch signal was pretty weak, one wave and unfortunate for the defender he was looking up to track ball and never saw the weak FC signal by R. R caught ball, I thought they had a whistle to kill the play, then K bumped into R and R reacted pulling a flag, so maybe "talked" crew into a flag. So if there was anything, it could have been a dead ball personal foul for the "late hit", it sure wasn't KCI. It if was KCI they booted the enforcement, you don't get 15-yds from the end of the kick, it's 15-yds PREVIOUS SPOT replay down, or result of play or awarded fair catch at the spot of the KCI.

(ART. 2 . . . An awarded fair catch occurs when the offended team chooses to take the ball at the spot of the kick-catching interference rather than accepting the distance penalty from the previous spot and replaying the down.)

Based on the penalty enforcement, they must have gone with dead ball personal foul for a late hit, he also said "Automatic 1st down" well not really, R is awarded a 1st down because they were team in possession following a legal kick. Right?

BktBallRef Sun Aug 28, 2011 08:36pm

Agreed. If anything, it was a late hit.

I wouldn't have had anything.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:50pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1