The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Passer over the LOS (https://forum.officiating.com/football/78954-passer-over-los.html)

referee20 Sat Aug 20, 2011 12:36pm

Passer over the LOS
 
QB goes past the LOS and completes a pass, seconds after he releases the ball he gets hit hard by a defensive player. Can you have roughing the passer when the passer throws an illegal forward pass. Offsetting fouls?

FTVMartin Sat Aug 20, 2011 12:44pm

No, he became a runner when he crossed the line, but you can still have a personal foul.

JasonTX Sat Aug 20, 2011 01:20pm

For NCAA this was a new change for this year. Starting this year it will still be a foul for roughing.

mbyron Sat Aug 20, 2011 07:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by referee20 (Post 782418)
QB goes past the LOS and completes a pass, seconds after he releases the ball he gets hit hard by a defensive player. Can you have roughing the passer when the passer throws an illegal forward pass. Offsetting fouls?

For NFHS, as stated, this cannot be roughing the passer: a passer by definition has thrown a legal forward pass. If you judge it to be a late hit or other personal foul, you could flag that.

If you flag a PF on the defense, yes, the penalties would offset: replay the down.

mbyron Sat Aug 20, 2011 07:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by FTVMartin (Post 782420)
No, he became a runner when he crossed the line, but you can still have a personal foul.

This is technically not correct. He was a runner all along, since he was a player in possession of the ball. And, at the time of contact, he is NOT in fact a runner, because he did not possess the ball.

He cannot be roughed because by rule he is not a passer. A passer has thrown a legal forward pass. Throwing an illegal forward pass leaves a player unprotected by the roughing provisions.

You are absolutely correct that a late or other illegal hit could still be flagged as a personal foul.

Robert Goodman Sat Aug 20, 2011 07:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by referee20 (Post 782418)
QB goes past the LOS and completes a pass, seconds after he releases the ball he gets hit hard by a defensive player. Can you have roughing the passer when the passer throws an illegal forward pass. Offsetting fouls?

If it was seconds after he released the ball, it can't be roughing the passer. It could be unnecessary roughness on general principles.

mbyron Sat Aug 20, 2011 08:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Robert Goodman (Post 782478)
If it was seconds after he released the ball, it can't be roughing the passer.

Sure it can be. He's a passer and protected until the pass ends or he moves to participate in the play. 2-32-11

Robert Goodman Sun Aug 21, 2011 09:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 782492)
Sure it can be. He's a passer and protected until the pass ends or he moves to participate in the play. 2-32-11

I suppose if it was a pass that was in the air for seconds.

HLin NC Sun Aug 21, 2011 02:41pm

And a deep post pattern wouldn't be in the air a few seconds? A sideline out route off the opposite hash?

Robert Goodman Mon Aug 22, 2011 11:45am

Quote:

Originally Posted by HLin NC (Post 782680)
And a deep post pattern wouldn't be in the air a few seconds? A sideline out route off the opposite hash?

Who said it couldn't?

Forksref Mon Aug 22, 2011 12:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by FTVMartin (Post 782420)
No, he became a runner when he crossed the line, but you can still have a personal foul.


Good reason to carry 2 flags.

JugglingReferee Mon Aug 22, 2011 02:32pm

Canadian Ruling
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by referee20 (Post 782418)
QB goes past the LOS and completes a pass, seconds after he releases the ball he gets hit hard by a defensive player. Can you have roughing the passer when the passer throws an illegal forward pass. Offsetting fouls?

CANADIAN RULING:

Once the passer crosses the LS, he is a ball carrier. If there is a UR, it is just a regular UR, and not UR/Passer.

So no, you cannot have roughing the passer and an IFP in this case.

JRutledge Mon Aug 22, 2011 02:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Robert Goodman (Post 782478)
If it was seconds after he released the ball, it can't be roughing the passer. It could be unnecessary roughness on general principles.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Robert Goodman (Post 782919)
Who said it couldn't?

Your comments are suggesting that after a few seconds is what would be the determining factor of being able to call RTP. That is why mbyron referenced 2-32-11 in response to your comments.

Peace

Robert Goodman Wed Aug 24, 2011 12:45am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 782953)
Your comments are suggesting that after a few seconds is what would be the determining factor of being able to call RTP. That is why mbyron referenced 2-32-11 in response to your comments.

Duh, my comments were before 2-32-11 was referenced. If my comment was in response to mbyron's, then you could say it was suggesting that.

MD Longhorn Thu Aug 25, 2011 04:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Robert Goodman (Post 783322)
Duh, my comments were before 2-32-11 was referenced. If my comment was in response to mbyron's, then you could say it was suggesting that.

Much backward read?

No... you said, "If it was seconds after he released the ball, it can't be roughing the passer." implying that "seconds" is the determining factor... which it's not. That's why mb quoted the correct rule - to contradict your incorrect assertion.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:41am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1