The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Feb Quiz (https://forum.officiating.com/football/7555-feb-quiz.html)

Mike Simonds Mon Mar 03, 2003 03:07pm

Read "Uncle Ernie's" answers...
 
Quote:

Originally posted by bryancrouch
teams never receive the choice on when to accept the penalty, only whether to accept it or not.
Well, the answer given above seems to indicate that A has a choice to enforce the penalty on the try or the kick-off.

I know that NF rules state that the penalty is enforced at the succeeding spot. Perhaps NCAA code is different. Maybe NF rule is changing for 2003. I'm simply asking for the rule reference on this point.

Thank you!

sm_bbcoach Tue Mar 04, 2003 12:09pm

[

9. 4/6 B40. Punter A7 kicks the ball in to the end zone where B16 attempts to catch it. the ball bounces off of B16 and A81 catches it at the B2 yard line and falls down there. B89 was offside at the snap. After the play B93 swears at A81.


Lets say that there was NO encrochment. Now what is the call?

[/B][/QUOTE] [/B][/QUOTE]

JMN Tue Mar 04, 2003 01:17pm

[QUOTE]Originally posted by sm_bbcoach
[B][

9. 4/6 B40. Punter A7 kicks the ball in to the end zone where B16 attempts to catch it. the ball bounces off of B16 and A81 catches it at the B2 yard line and falls down there. B89 was offside at the snap. After the play B93 swears at A81.


Lets say that there was NO encrochment. Now what is the call?

*********
A's ball, 1st/Goal on the B1 after the 1/2 the distance unsportsmanlike penalty on B93.

Mike Simonds Tue Mar 04, 2003 01:20pm

NF rules: Touchback.
 
Kicks entering R's endzone, whether grounded or on the fly, result in a touchback. R's ball 1st and 10 from their 20 yard line.

I'm still waiting for a reply to my comments regarding questions 2 and 8.

Have a great day everyone!

Whoops, forgot about the dead ball unsportsmanlike conduct foul. Penalize this from the R 20 yard line. R's ball 1st and 10 from the R 10 yard line.

[Edited by Mike Simonds on Mar 4th, 2003 at 12:23 PM]

Bob M. Tue Mar 04, 2003 01:26pm

To sm_bbcoach...
 
Assuming there is no offsides/encroachment...

For Federation, the punt into the end zone is a touchback when the kick crosses the plane of the goal line. B's muff and A's recovery is immaterial. Penalize B half the distance from the succeeding spot (B's 20) ==> B, 1/10 from B's 10.

For NCAA, it's a little more complicated. If the ball touches the ground in B's end zone prior to B's muff, it's a touchback and everything proceeds just as in Federation. If B muffs the kick in flight (that appears to be the case since the original post says that <i>"...B16 attempts to <u>catch</u> it"</i>) then the ball remains alive. A16's catch (or recovery) kills the play. Whether or not he falls down at the two is not material. His recovery (or catch) causes the ball to become dead. The ball belongs to him at the two after which the USC penalty is enforced (half the distance) making it A's ball, 1/goal from B's 1. Clock will start on the snap.

Bob M. Tue Mar 04, 2003 04:16pm

Mike, My response to your questions about #2 and #8
 
Mike, For what it's worth, here are my thoughts on #2 and #8:

<b>2. 3/10 on the B12. QB A8 drops back, looking for an open receiver . Just as A8 releases a legal forward pass toward A80 in the end zone, B90 steps on Guard A65 (who is on all fours) in an attempt to block the pass. A80 catches the pass for a touchdown.</b> RULING: In Federation rules, there is no specific prohibition against this action. NF 9-4-2e expressly forbids a player from standing on the body or shoulders of a <u>teammate</u> to gain an advantage, but not an opponent. One might argue that NF 9-4-2g could be invoked because the contact is unnecessary, but that’s a pretty slippery slope since the attempt was to block the pass. It wasn’t really unnecessary. I’d be really careful not to employ too liberal an interpretation of 9-4-2g. However, in NCAA rules, 9-1-2q <u>does</u> clearly forbid a player from stepping/standing on an <u>opponent</u> to gain an advantage. NCAA enforcement procedures allow the penalty for this personal foul to be assessed either (a) on the try, or (b) on the succeeding free kick.

<b>8. 2/18 A6. QB A8 pitches the ball back to Back A33 who muffs the ball at the A2. The ball bounces to the A3 where B91 tries to pick it up, but he muffs it and the ball rolls into the goal line pylon.</b> RULING: In Federation the question is clear: What was the force, A’s backward pass or B91’s muff? If the pass, safety—award B 2 pts. If the muff (sounds like it here since the ball was moving away from A’s goal line), TB—A, 1-10 @ A’s 20.
In NCAA, the question is moot. Unless the ball is at rest, a new impetus (force) cannot be added. The initial impetus is still at work. Therefore, A’s backward pass is responsible for the ball hitting the pylon. Result: Safety. Award B 2 pts.

JMN Tue Mar 04, 2003 04:55pm

To clarify, my response was NCAA ruling. Sorry if I confused anyone.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:32pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1