![]() |
NFHS Muffed Punt
NFHS rules: K on their own 30 with 4th down. K punts a short kick. At K's 40, R muffs the catch attempt. The ball rolls back, untouched, to K's 25, where K picks up the ball and throws an incomplete forward pass. Miraculously, no one is illegal down field and there are no penalties.
Whose ball is it, on what yard line and what is the down? |
K is awarded a new series. Team possession did not change, K's pass is legal yet incomplete, 1-10 K nee' A at the K/A 25 yl.
See 5.1.3 Situation C for the closest example. Be prepared to walk off 15 more on R/B's HC.:eek: |
Agree HLinNC, except that since it is an incomplete legal forward pass, the ball should be placed at the previous spot. 1st and 10 for K at the K-30.
|
Same in NCAA, but illegal forward pass in NFL, offside pass in Canadian. Still new series in everybody's code.
|
not exactly
NCAA the ball is dead when "recovered" behind the NZ so in that case it would be K/A ball at the spot of recovery. 6-3-6a
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:50am. |