The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Scrimmage Kick Question (https://forum.officiating.com/football/6970-scrimmage-kick-question.html)

sm_bbcoach Mon Jan 13, 2003 09:27pm

K ball 4/13 from their 33. K1 legally kicks the ball to K88 who is behind the LOS. K88 then passes the ball to K25 (eligable receiver) who catches the ball at R45.
What if anything do you have?

I said I had nothing but K 1/10 from the R45. Was I correct?

AndrewMcCarthy Mon Jan 13, 2003 10:02pm

Quote:

Originally posted by sm_bbcoach
I said I had nothing but K 1/10 from the R45. Was I correct? [/B]
Yes- as long as K reached the line to gain they keep the ball 1/10.

KWH Mon Jan 13, 2003 10:15pm

Yes 1st and 10 for K on the R45
 
See NFHS Rulebook 6-2-3

Also see NFHS Casebook 6.2.3 SITUATION A, "COMMENT"
This play does not apply but the "COMMENT" hits the nail on the head!

JMN Tue Jan 14, 2003 11:17am

Interesting play!

I haven't seen this one and would expect it to be very difficult to execute. But, I'm already getting a headache if this becomes this year's "Play de jour". :)

SeanWest Thu Jan 16, 2003 01:19pm

For those of us interested parties without rulebooks or casebooks would someone be willing to post 6-2-3 and SITUATION A, "COMMENT"??

Ed Hickland Sat Jan 18, 2003 10:33pm

Quote:

Originally posted by SeanWest
For those of us interested parties without rulebooks or casebooks would someone be willing to post 6-2-3 and SITUATION A, "COMMENT"??
The right of the kickers to advance their recovered scrimmage kick depends entirely upon whether the kick is recovered in, behind or beyond the neutral zone. Whether the kick went beyond the neutral zone and then rebounded behind it is of no consequence. The spot of recovery is the only factor. If the recovery is in or behind the neutral zone, K may advance. If the recovery is beyond the neutral zone, K may recover, but may not advance.

Quote:

Interesting play!

I haven't seen this one and would expect it to be very difficult to execute. But, I'm already getting a headache if this becomes this year's "Play de jour".

Difficult play to execute but consider a punt that is blocked and recovered by K behind the line.

This past season had a punt blocked by B high into the air, recovered by A's punter behind the LOS, who runs with the ball across the line of scrimmage then throws a forward pass.




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:32am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1