The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Is this pass interference? (https://forum.officiating.com/football/6120-pass-interference.html)

BoBo Tue Oct 29, 2002 03:42pm

QB A1 pitches the ball to tailback A2 who begins to run and then pulls up and throws a pass downfield to A3. While A2's pass is in flight B1 pushes A3. Is this interference on B1?

Is A2 granted protection as a passer?(Roughing the passer??)



According to my interpretation of Rule 7-9-c this would not be interference. B's interference rules end when the first pass has been touched by A or B. (The quick pitch is a backward pass i.e. first pass)


Just one to really think about. Many times it is called defensive interference.

Do you agree with my interpretation?

4 Sport Official Tue Oct 29, 2002 04:02pm

Correct
 

You are correct, the pass interference restrictions end for B when the first pass is touched by A or B.

The passer, however, is still afforded protection from roughing, regardless of how many passes have been thrown, as long as the pass is legal.



KWH Tue Oct 29, 2002 05:05pm

You are inncorrect. It IS DPI!!!
 
Quote:

Originally posted by BoBo
QB A1 pitches the ball to tailback A2 who begins to run and then pulls up and throws a pass downfield to A3. While A2's pass is in flight B1 pushes A3. Is this interference on B1?

Is A2 granted protection as a passer?(Roughing the passer??)



According to my interpretation of Rule 7-9-c this would not be interference. B's interference rules end when the first pass has been touched by A or B. (The quick pitch is a backward pass i.e. first pass)


Just one to really think about. Many times it is called defensive interference.

Do you agree with my interpretation?

NO, in your play the correct ruling is Defensive PI.
THE BACKWARD PASS thrown by A1 to A2 has no bearing on FORWARD PASS Restriction requirments for B!!!

Your referenece to 7-9-c (which is actually 7-5-9c) is incorrect. 7-5 is entitled: SECTION 5 FORWARD PASS CLASSIFICATION. This entire section is referring to Forward Passes. Sorry if you were confused, however, always remember backward passes do not count when referring to Forward Pass restricitons.
Also if the pass from A1 to A2 in your play had been forward your ruling would have been correct (See Casebook 7.5.9)

In your other question yes, A2 is a passer and is afforded protection.



BoBo Tue Oct 29, 2002 05:17pm

I apoligize for the confusion, but was curious on the play itself. Backward pass is the key thanks!!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:13am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1