The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Legal formation? (https://forum.officiating.com/football/60338-legal-formation.html)

bsaucer Mon Jan 03, 2011 11:11am

Legal formation?
 
Is it legal for the offense to have eight men on the line of scrimage? If so, does that cause six of them to be inellegible? Should those six wear inelligible numbers?

Welpe Mon Jan 03, 2011 11:14am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bsaucer (Post 711657)
Is it legal for the offense to have eight men on the line of scrimage?

Yes.

Quote:

If so, does that cause six of them to be inellegible?
Yes. An offensive lineman is ineligible anytime he is covered by an end.

Quote:

Should those six wear inelligible numbers?
Not necessarily. Barring scrimminage kick formations, at least 5 needs to have 50-79.

mbyron Mon Jan 03, 2011 11:27am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bsaucer (Post 711657)
Should those six wear ineligible numbers?

The only numbering restriction pertaining to ineligible numbers requires 5 linemen to be ineligible by number. Having more than 5 ineligible by position does not change that requirement in any way.

Rich Mon Jan 03, 2011 11:47am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bsaucer (Post 711657)
Is it legal for the offense to have eight men on the line of scrimage? If so, does that cause six of them to be inellegible? Should those six wear inelligible numbers?

Speaking NFHS:

Only 5 need to wear 50-79 on the line and they can actually be on the ends. They are ineligible by number.

These rules are completely different in the NFL.

EEE Mon Jan 03, 2011 04:45pm

So if A55 is lined up as a wide receiver and is on the end of the line, he is ineligible to go down field. If he goes down field and a forward pass is made, we have ineligible downfield. If he goes down field and catches a forward pass, we have illegal touching and ineligible down field. B would probably take the illegal touching, as it is LOD.

Correct?

mbyron Mon Jan 03, 2011 04:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by EEE (Post 711729)
So if A55 is lined up as a wide receiver and is on the end of the line, he is ineligible to go down field. If he goes down field and a forward pass is made, we have ineligible downfield. If he goes down field and catches a forward pass, we have illegal touching and ineligible down field. B would probably take the illegal touching, as it is LOD.

Correct?

Nearly correct. 'Eligibility' pertains to being a receiver, not "going downfield." On a screen pass, for example, any player can "go downfield."

A55 is an ineligible receiver by number, and your account of the fouls and penalties is all correct (for NFHS at least).

Cobra Mon Jan 03, 2011 11:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 711731)
On a screen pass, for example, any player can "go downfield."

What if the pass crosses the neutral zone?

Texas Aggie Tue Jan 04, 2011 12:28am

Quote:

Only 5 need to wear 50-79 on the line and they can actually be on the ends. They are ineligible by number.
Same for NCAA. New NCAA requirement from about 2008 or 2009 has no requirement on line, but no more than 4 in backfield. 5 on line is legal since 5 must be wearing 50-79.

Cobra: by screen pass, he means pass caught behind line. Once pass crosses line, you get into ineligibles (either by number or position) downfield.

mbyron Tue Jan 04, 2011 07:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Cobra (Post 711787)
What if the pass crosses the neutral zone?

Then I wouldn't call it a screen pass. :p


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:58am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1