![]() |
Team A is lined up to kick off. Kicker K1 places the ball on the tee and the ready for play whistle is blown. K1 then picks up the tee and ball and moves it 5 yards to another spot and resets the ball. Is this allowed as long as the kick takes place in the allotted amount of time? Or is it a false start type penalty? This happened in a game governed by NCAA rules.
|
Bigwhistle,
There was an article under the football section last week that somewhat addresses this. I say somewaht, becasue it tells us tht in FED and Pro, the kick must be made from the designated spot (FED), or once the ball is placed on the teePro), but says nothing about the NCAA rule on this: Federation: A kicking tee that elevates the lowest point of the ball no more than two-inches above the ground may be used on all place kicks, including kickoffs, field goal attempts, and Tries. (1-3-4) Once designated, the kick must be made from that spot. (6-1-2) NCAA: Kicking tees that elevate the ballÂ’s lowest point no more than two-inches above the ground may be used only on kickoffs, but not on field goal attempts nor tries. (2-15-4; 6-3-10-d) Pro: For placekicks at kickoffs, the kicking team may use a tee that is one-inch in height. Once the ball has been placed on the kicking tee, the tee cannot be moved. (6-1-3) A tee may not be used during any scoring kick nor for a free kick after a safety. (11-5-4) |
|
What is meant by "tries"?
As in "field goal attempt or tries".
|
Re: What is meant by
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:26pm. |