The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Block in the Back downfield (https://forum.officiating.com/football/5994-block-back-downfield.html)

mulligan23 Fri Oct 11, 2002 02:18pm

I had an instance in an 8th grade game where I disagreed with the Referee, and the Umpire.

Situation: Ball spotted on the 50 yard line, Team A (offense) runs the ball to about the 15 yard line, on the way down the field a block in the back was called by the umpire the covering official at the 20. I assumed the block in the back would be penalized from the 20 back 10 yars, and then the result would still be a first down? Am I incorrect, as the penalty was administered from the 50 and took the team back to their 40 yard line. I read my books, and feel that I was correct, should penalize from the spot of the foul.

Kelvin green Fri Oct 11, 2002 02:57pm

whoops. They messed up. After you had the enforcement did you have an USC penalty for the coach and staff going nuts over the bad enforcement spot?

Why would a run go back to the previous spot and enforce?

Think they need a refresher in all but one!

snrmike Fri Oct 11, 2002 02:57pm

Block in the back (NF) is enforced from the spot of the foul in all cases. I'm assuming that your Junior High games follows NF rules.

Mike Simonds Fri Oct 11, 2002 04:09pm

Assuming NF rules, you are correct!
 
Under National Federation rules, this was a foul by A behind the basic spot. You had a running play that ended at B's 15 yard line. The foul by A occurred at B's 20 yard line. Should have been enforced from there, 10 yards, to B's 30 yard line. If A then was beyond the line to gain they should have been awarded a first down. If not beyond the line to gain repeat the down after enforcement (from B's 20) of A's penalty.

BktBallRef Fri Oct 11, 2002 08:25pm

Quote:

Originally posted by snrmike
Block in the back (NF) is enforced from the spot of the foul in all cases. I'm assuming that your Junior High games follows NF rules.
Not true. If the foul occurred beyond the end of the run, the walk off would be from the end of the run, not the spot of the foul.

snrmike Sat Oct 12, 2002 11:18pm

...and this is why I subscribe to this board. I learn something useful every day!!!!

Thanks dude. I hastily assumed that in every situation, the foul would have occurred behind the end of the run.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:42pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1