The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Kickoff contact (https://forum.officiating.com/football/59879-kickoff-contact.html)

phansen Fri Nov 26, 2010 01:29pm

Kickoff contact
 
NCAA College football

K11 kicks off into a strong wind. R1 jumps into the air to catch a short pooch kick(no fair catch signal) and is contacted by K1 before the ball arrives. K2 recovers at the R45 yard line. What is the result of this play?

ajmc Fri Nov 26, 2010 02:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by phansen (Post 703405)
NCAA College football

K11 kicks off into a strong wind. R1 jumps into the air to catch a short pooch kick(no fair catch signal) and is contacted by K1 before the ball arrives. K2 recovers at the R45 yard line. What is the result of this play?

Under the NFHS code, ONLY R can (legally) CATCH a FREE KICK. There are no exceptions. For K to be able to (legally) RECOVER a free kick, the ball must travel beyond the plane of R's free kick line AND touch the ground. (the two requirements may occur in any order).

If K touches a grounded FREE kick before it travels to R's FREE kick line, it's first touching, unless that grounded FREE kick has been touched by R, in which case the FREE kick will belong to whomever recovers it.

In the above play, K would have committed Kick Catching Interference (Whether a FC Signal was given, or not) R would have the choice of accepting a Fair Catch at the spot of the catch, or accepting a replay of the Kick after a 15 yard previous spot enforcement.

phansen Fri Nov 26, 2010 03:18pm

I was wondering if there are any differences with the college rules?

TXMike Fri Nov 26, 2010 04:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by phansen (Post 703405)
NCAA College football

K11 kicks off into a strong wind. R1 jumps into the air to catch a short pooch kick(no fair catch signal) and is contacted by K1 before the ball arrives. K2 recovers at the R45 yard line. What is the result of this play?

NCAA - Kick catch interference Team B is awarded the ball 15 yards from spot of foul


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:27am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1