The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Intentional Grounding (https://forum.officiating.com/football/59614-intentional-grounding.html)

Sportsmaniac432 Tue Nov 02, 2010 02:33pm

Intentional Grounding
 
Team A has the ball down 6 with 1:00 to go in 4th quarter. It is 4th and 10 from their own 5 yard line. QB is in endzone when he realizes that he is going to be sacked and throws it away. Intentional grounding is called resulting in a safety, Team A then proceeds to kick onside kick. Now the question. Is this a declinable penalty in which Team B takes over at the original LOS and kneels down to end the game without the added suspense of a onside?

ppaltice Tue Nov 02, 2010 02:42pm

No. IG is considered a running play and the end of the run is in the end zone. Take the penalty or decline, it is a safety.

Cobra Tue Nov 02, 2010 03:05pm

The succeeding spot is the previous spot only after a legal forward pass. 7-5 Art 2, 3, and 5.

"If the pass is legal, the passing team next snaps the ball at the previous spot, unless lost after fourth down"

"If the penalty for an illegal forward pass is accepted, measurement is from the spot of such forward pass. If the offended team declines the distance penalty, it has the choice of having the down counted at the spot of the illegal incomplete forward pass or (if the illegal forward pass is caught or intercepted) of having the ball put in play as determined by the action which followed the catch."

BktBallRef Tue Nov 02, 2010 07:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sportsmaniac432 (Post 699364)
Is this a declinable penalty in which Team B takes over at the original LOS and kneels down to end the game without the added suspense of a onside?

ppaltice is correct. Whether the penalty is accepted or declined, the play ended in the end zone. An illegal forward pass is a running play, not your routine incomplete pass play where the ball goes back to the previous spot. The QB's run ended in the end zone, so it's the same as being tackled there.

I love posting this question for fans on Fan football sites. :D

JugglingReferee Tue Nov 02, 2010 07:49pm

Canadian Ruling
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Sportsmaniac432 (Post 699364)
Team A has the ball down 6 with 1:00 to go in 4th quarter. It is 4th and 10 from their own 5 yard line. QB is in endzone when he realizes that he is going to be sacked and throws it away. Intentional grounding is called resulting in a safety, Team A then proceeds to kick onside kick. Now the question. Is this a declinable penalty in which Team B takes over at the original LOS and kneels down to end the game without the added suspense of a onside?

CANADIAN RULING:

Of course B can decline the penalty and take the result of the play - which is an incomplete pass, and therefore a turnover on downs: Team B 1D/G @ A-5

With_Two_Flakes Tue Nov 02, 2010 08:24pm

Ditto in NCAA rules. B can decline and take the ball in rather nice field position.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:37pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1