The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Tackling an eligible receiver (https://forum.officiating.com/football/59533-tackling-eligible-receiver.html)

ppaltice Mon Oct 25, 2010 10:06am

Tackling an eligible receiver
 
I am working a 6 man game, where in Alabama, the SJ's initial key is the widest eligible and the HL's initial key(s) are the other eligibles (similar for FJ and LJ on the opposite side). Alabama uses NFHS rules.

Only one eligible receiver (A20) on the side close to me (HL). Receiver is about 2 yards from the sideline. Defender (B13) contacts A20 about 5 yards downfield, forces the receiver OOB, grabs A20's shoulder pads, and tackles the receiver at the restraining line maybe 10 yards down field. The play goes to the opposite side (as does the rest of the players). The ball is passed and intercepted (and the Team B player is downed). B13 tackled A20 prior to the forward pass.

Question 1: Is there a foul on B13 and what is the foul?
Question 2: Which official has A20 and B13?

JRutledge Mon Oct 25, 2010 11:11am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ppaltice (Post 697891)
Question 1: Is there a foul on B13 and what is the foul?

Sounds like it.


Quote:

Originally Posted by ppaltice (Post 697891)
Question 2: Which official has A20 and B13?

This would depend on the area you live if they have a directive either way. I believe it would be the deep wing as the key, but any official can call an obvious foul if they see it for something like this. So any wing could get this if they clearly have a foul. We can watch our key longer in 6 or 7 man, but that does not mean if there is not issues where we are looking we cannot go to something else.

Peace

GoodwillRef Mon Oct 25, 2010 11:12am

You think the action is legal?

Holding and a possible unsportsmanlike.

If you see it...call it.

Robert Goodman Mon Oct 25, 2010 11:16am

I'm just surprised to read of 6-man without all 6 being eligible receivers any more.

ppaltice Mon Oct 25, 2010 11:20am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Robert Goodman (Post 697902)
I'm just surprised to read of 6-man without all 6 being eligible receivers any more.

Ahh, that was confusing. Six officials (not players).

And with the two players at the restraining line, the official(s) have to turn away from the field to watch them.

footballref Mon Oct 25, 2010 11:28am

Sounds like defensive holding during a loose ball play. 10 yards from previous spot and replay the down. B definitely will not keep the ball...as long as a flag is thrown.

mbyron Mon Oct 25, 2010 11:38am

Although I applaud your instinct to think twice about a flag when the play is across the field, you still have to flag the obvious. Holding this blatant has to have a flag.

Welpe Mon Oct 25, 2010 11:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by GoodwillRef (Post 697899)
Holding and a possible unsportsmanlike.

If you see it...call it.

What would you call for unsportsmanlike? I could see a possible personal foul though I think a hold would be the most appropriate (without seeing the play of course).

GoodwillRef Mon Oct 25, 2010 12:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 697910)
What would you call for unsportsmanlike? I could see a possible personal foul though I think a hold would be the most appropriate (without seeing the play of course).

Sorry, I meant a possible personal foul.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:32pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1