The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Kickoff Hits Blocker - Goes OOB (https://forum.officiating.com/football/59312-kickoff-hits-blocker-goes-oob.html)

Spence Fri Oct 08, 2010 10:54pm

Kickoff Hits Blocker - Goes OOB
 
Kicker kicks a low liner. Ball hits blocker who was on the front row. The ball then caromed out of bounds. Am I correct that it's the receiving team's ball?

The ball was awarded to the kicking team but it was impossible to tell if the kicking team recovered it before it went OOB.

BktBallRef Fri Oct 08, 2010 11:35pm

Yes, receiving team's ball where it went OOB, IF it went OOB.

mbyron Sat Oct 09, 2010 05:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Spence (Post 695624)
The ball was awarded to the kicking team but it was impossible to tell if the kicking team recovered it before it went OOB.

Impossible for whom? The covering official apparently judged that K had clear possession in-bounds. Do you have any other evidence that he might have screwed up the ruling?

Spence Sat Oct 09, 2010 09:09am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 695643)
Impossible for whom? The covering official apparently judged that K had clear possession in-bounds. Do you have any other evidence that he might have screwed up the ruling?

Let me clarify. Impossible for everyone besides those officials on the field.

Don't be so sensitive,son. I figured that it had to be recovered but someone asked if had anything to do with it hitting the receiving team and the receiving team not ever gaining possession. I told them I'd check.

Toughen up your backside.

Robert Goodman Sat Oct 09, 2010 10:08am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Spence (Post 695624)
Kicker kicks a low liner. Ball hits blocker who was on the front row. The ball then caromed out of bounds. Am I correct that it's the receiving team's ball?

The ball was awarded to the kicking team but it was impossible to tell if the kicking team recovered it before it went OOB.

Are you the guy who posted at Coach Huey's who was playing under Canadian rules? If so, better specify, because the last I knew under those rules, team possession would've been awarded to the team whose player last touched it (or whom it touched) before going out of bounds. But we have a couple of officials here who are up to date on Canadian amateur (and pro, I think) rules.

Anyone else's rules, if no player possession, team possession to receiving team.

mbyron Sat Oct 09, 2010 12:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Spence (Post 695654)
Let me clarify. Impossible for everyone besides those officials on the field.

Don't be so sensitive,son. I figured that it had to be recovered but someone asked if had anything to do with it hitting the receiving team and the receiving team not ever gaining possession. I told them I'd check.

Toughen up your backside.

Let me get this straight: you can't field a question, and I have a sensitivity problem? I think it's pretty clear who's over-sensitive. :rolleyes:


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:59pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1