![]() |
Quote:
It's not about "must only do what the book says" - it's about fairness and objectivity. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Two different contexts: (a) It's the first play of the game (b) It's been a very chippy game and B45 is the primary instigator on several plays. You've already talked to him twice and have asked him stop contacting opponents after the ball is dead. Same exact plays. Different context. |
Quote:
Same way with the OL flinching. If he moves, I've got a flag EVERY time. The reaction of the defense, fans, coaches, other officials, clock operator, Santa Claus, etc., never figures into it. |
Quote:
A62 flinches prior to the snap. Nobody moves (after all it's the last kneel down of the game... this baby is over....) are you are going to flag A62 for a false start? If you are, then you are true to your word....leaving people wondering "who in tarnation taught this guy to officiate?" If you are not, then you are not true to your word and actually agree with many on here who say "not every time". |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Same way with the dead ball push - if it's not excessive or viscious, you're not gonna throw a flag on that ever - maybe a word - "Quit that", but no flag. If it gets escessive or viscious, you're not worried about how many times you've warned him, you've got a flag every time. Right or Wrong? |
Quote:
|
Reading through the rule book a minute ago and came across this gem in the 2009 edition of NFHS:
The major problem in dealing with false starts is the inconsistency in administration. Whether or not a false start has occurred, or not, is not predicated upon whether the defender encroaches or not, or by the down and/or distance. |
How about 7-1-7b
Hut-Hut-HutHutt! b. Any act is clearly intended to cause B to encroach. I have heard many officials say that snap count falls under this but I say, snap count is not an ACT. It is verbiage, now if the team runs a play that is just snap counts and no snap, that ACT was clearly designed to draw B into the NZ. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
As officials, we are not parents. If this non-excessive non-vicious contact is not a foul, it's not a foul. It may draw a warning, but it's not a foul the first time, the 3rd time, or the 10th time. If he's not fouling, why are you flagging this after a warning. Surely your warning isn't "Don't do that again". It should be something less specific like, "Cut it out" or "Watch it". It's not like the first 9 times were 1/10 of a foul each, so the 10th is a foul. If the contact IS a foul, it's a foul on the first play and a foul on the last play. |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:09pm. |