The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   roughing the kicker (https://forum.officiating.com/football/59273-roughing-kicker.html)

BigFarns Tue Oct 05, 2010 11:51am

roughing the kicker
 
I've just started getting white hat assignments on the JV level and I had a play yesterday I wanted to see if I got right.

Obvious punt formation. Punter drops the snap, bobbles it a bit while picking it up, takes 2 steps to his right and then tries to kick on the move. The defensive end coming from the punter's left at this point is not going for a block but going for the tackle. Commits to the tackle. The punt and tackle happen almost simultaneously.

I held my flag. I said that the punt was no longer obvious when the snap was dropped and the punter started to move. Mind you the punter never made it outside the tackle box but he was panicked and moving unlike a punter would to kick.

The punt went a whole 3 yards past the LOS because of all this action and was recovered by R giving them great field position.

I hope that was right in passing on this. I look at the rule 9-1-4a and feel I'm right as the punt was no longer obvious because of the fumble/ensuing action but I look at 9-1-4a-5 and I just get concerned about the fact he was still in the tackle box area.

thoughts?

GoodwillRef Tue Oct 05, 2010 12:03pm

I would say you made a great no call for the reasons you stated.

mbyron Tue Oct 05, 2010 12:12pm

You must be talking about NCAA, because NFHS 9-1 has no section 4. :)

I'm probably not competent to speak on NCAA rules, but in general K loses the benefit of the doubt when the punter muffs the snap and moves with the ball. You had a borderline case, but the benefit of the doubt goes to R here. Good no-call.

BigFarns Tue Oct 05, 2010 12:16pm

sorry, you are right I'm talking NCAA. From Massachusetts here.

So the tackle box isn't anything to be concerned with once the snap is muffed, that's what I'm gathering. right?

GoodwillRef Tue Oct 05, 2010 12:18pm

Lets be clear here just because the snap is muffed or hits the ground and the punter moves it can still be running into or roughing the punter...this is a judgment call that most of us have to be there to see.

JasonTX Tue Oct 05, 2010 12:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigFarns (Post 694990)
sorry, you are right I'm talking NCAA. From Massachusetts here.

So the tackle box isn't anything to be concerned with once the snap is muffed, that's what I'm gathering. right?



NCAA:
That is not correct. Muffing the snap does not cause him to lose protection. Running outside of the tackle box will cause him to lose the standard protection of a kicker.

BigFarns Tue Oct 05, 2010 12:35pm

ok. so in this instance my judgement was that the kick was not obvious but I can't set hard rules like "dropped snap = no roughing".

I think I get it.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:15pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1