The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Fumble and Foul (https://forum.officiating.com/football/59233-fumble-foul.html)

eroombill Sat Oct 02, 2010 08:04pm

Fumble and Foul
 
Today, on a kick return, the runner was tackled by his facemask and fumbled the ball. The kicking team recovered and the Referee let them keep it. I was pretty certain that the foul should have been a spot foul (15 yards) and the receiveing team should have kept the ball. What should the call have been? Thanks.

tjones1 Sat Oct 02, 2010 08:39pm

If R declined the penalty then K would have kept the ball.

Otherwise, 15 yards added to the end of the run.

footballref Sat Oct 02, 2010 08:56pm

Always remember the team in possession after a turnover must gain possession with "clean hands" in order to keep the ball. They can foul after the change of possession, but not before if they want to keep the ball

ODJ Tue Oct 05, 2010 11:22pm

Your call should be to the assignor who put that R on the field. :eek:

JugglingReferee Wed Oct 06, 2010 06:00am

Canadian Ruling
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by eroombill (Post 694667)
Today, on a kick return, the runner was tackled by his facemask and fumbled the ball. The kicking team recovered and the Referee let them keep it. I was pretty certain that the foul should have been a spot foul (15 yards) and the receiveing team should have kept the ball. What should the call have been? Thanks.

CANADIAN RULING:

15 yards from Point Ball Held at time of facemask, AFD.

MD Longhorn Wed Oct 06, 2010 08:14am

Quote:

Originally Posted by eroombill (Post 694667)
Today, on a kick return, the runner was tackled by his facemask and fumbled the ball. The kicking team recovered and the Referee let them keep it. I was pretty certain that the foul should have been a spot foul (15 yards) and the receiveing team should have kept the ball. What should the call have been? Thanks.

Sounds wrong unless the fumble (and recovery) happened before the FM.

GoodwillRef Wed Oct 06, 2010 11:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by eroombill (Post 694667)
Today, on a kick return, the runner was tackled by his facemask and fumbled the ball. The kicking team recovered and the Referee let them keep it. I was pretty certain that the foul should have been a spot foul (15 yards) and the receiveing team should have kept the ball. What should the call have been? Thanks.

Did you go to the referee and let him know he was wrong before you snapped the ball?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:59pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1