The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Free kick "first touch" (https://forum.officiating.com/football/59227-free-kick-first-touch.html)

wyo-referee Sat Oct 02, 2010 06:26pm

Free kick "first touch"
 
K kicks off and ball lands on 25 and K attempts to field it on the run and doesn't control it and ball skips and rolls and finally recovered by R at 5. R's coach wanted the ball at 25 for first touching. I gave him ball 5. I can't find in rule book where i did wrong. My reason was that the ball has gone 10 yards and hit the ground, it's a free football for anybody to recover and it wasn't batted.

JRutledge Sat Oct 02, 2010 06:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by wyo-referee (Post 694652)
K kicks off and ball lands on 25 and K attempts to field it on the run and doesn't control it and ball skips and rolls and finally recovered by R at 5. R's coach wanted the ball at 25 for first touching. I gave him ball 5. I can't find in rule book where i did wrong. My reason was that the ball has gone 10 yards and hit the ground, it's a free football for anybody to recover and it wasn't batted.

First touching on a free kick only applies to the ball being touched by K in the neutral zone. The ball landing at the 25 is not in that area (if you kick from the 40 as normal).

Just sounds like one of those many rules a coach does not know.

Peace

BktBallRef Sat Oct 02, 2010 07:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by wyo-referee (Post 694652)
K kicks off and ball lands on 25 and K attempts to field it on the run and doesn't control it and ball skips and rolls and finally recovered by R at 5. R's coach wanted the ball at 25 for first touching. I gave him ball 5. I can't find in rule book where i did wrong. My reason was that the ball has gone 10 yards and hit the ground, it's a free football for anybody to recover and it wasn't batted.

During a free kick, first touching can only occur in the 10 yard neutral zone.

You got it right, don't sweat it.

MRH Mon Oct 04, 2010 09:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by wyo-referee (Post 694652)
K kicks off and ball lands on 25 and K attempts to field it on the run and doesn't control it and ball skips and rolls and finally recovered by R at 5. R's coach wanted the ball at 25 for first touching. I gave him ball 5. I can't find in rule book where i did wrong. My reason was that the ball has gone 10 yards and hit the ground, it's a free football for anybody to recover and it wasn't batted.

You did well!! :) K is entitled to recovery in your situation.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:55am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1