The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Blocked FG - Offense Team options (https://forum.officiating.com/football/59154-blocked-fg-offense-team-options.html)

Spence Fri Sep 24, 2010 10:41pm

Blocked FG - Offense Team options
 
Defense blocks a FG. Holder picks up the ball. Does the offense have any limitations as to what it can do since it was blocked? Can they pass it downfield assuming no linemen have gone downfield?

BktBallRef Fri Sep 24, 2010 10:44pm

Not only can they pass it, they could also drop kick it, punt it, or stop, hold and place kick again.

Spence Fri Sep 24, 2010 10:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 693743)
Not only can they pass it, they could also drop kick it, punt it, or stop, hold and place kick again.

Thanks. The team threw a TD pass tonight. I didn't know if the blocked kick changed/limited any of their options. Thats why I ref basketball.

BktBallRef Fri Sep 24, 2010 10:54pm

Same conditions apply to a punt. As long as they make the play behind the LOS, it's all good.

JugglingReferee Sat Sep 25, 2010 04:17am

Canadian Ruling
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Spence (Post 693742)
Defense blocks a FG. Holder picks up the ball. Does the offense have any limitations as to what it can do since it was blocked? Can they pass it downfield assuming no linemen have gone downfield?

CANADIAN RULING:

No restrictions; all regular rules still apply.

Robert Goodman Sat Sep 25, 2010 08:26am

It's only on a try in Fed that you get just one kick.

golfnref Sun Sep 26, 2010 01:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 693743)
Not only can they pass it, they could also drop kick it, punt it, or stop, hold and place kick again.

As long as the holder does'nt put his knee on the ground.

BktBallRef Sun Sep 26, 2010 01:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by golfnref (Post 693846)
As long as the holder does'nt put his knee on the ground.

Never said the holder could put his knee on the ground. :)

golfnref Sun Sep 26, 2010 06:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 693848)
Never said the holder could put his knee on the ground. :)

Just saying. Never said you did. :):)

Robert Goodman Sun Sep 26, 2010 10:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by golfnref (Post 693846)
As long as the holder does'nt put his knee on the ground.

What exactly does the applicable provision say in the various codes? I'm pretty sure that as long as it's for an ostensible place kick, in NCAA it wouldn't matter whether player possession was from a snap or otherwise.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:49am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1