![]() |
Starting the clock
I'm a bit confused on this rule.
On 2nd and 10 A runs the ball for five yards. The clock is obviously running. On the next play, A throws an incomplete pass, there is a holding penalty called on A. B accepts the penalty. Does the clock start on the snap because the play in which there was a penalty stopped the clock, or does it start on the ready for play because the clock was running before the play that included the penalty? |
Canadian Ruling
Quote:
Before the 3-minute warning: on the RFP. After the 3-minute warning: on the snap. |
Quote:
Seriously - this may be different depending on whether it's FED, NCAA, or NFL (or CFL - JR!). NCAA: Starts on the snap because the play in which there was a penalty stopped the clock. I BELIEVE (but won't vouch 100%) Fed is the same. I also believe NFL is different depending on the time of the game, but am not positive of that. I do not think the status of the clock on the previous play is part of your decision making process in ANY code. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
The penalty is of no consequence. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:01am. |