![]() |
Penalty during a loose ball play that results in a TD
Here's the situation:
Team A is on their 2 yard line. The QB and RB fumble the handoff and the ball is loose in the endzone. While B76 tries to gain possession, he is held (and flagged) by A21. B76 ends up recovering the fumble in the endzone for a TD. And we offered B the opportunity to assess the penalty on the try or kick-off. Was this correct? Or does B need to decline the penalty to get the TD? Thanks. |
NFHS
I assume the hold is against A21. B needs to decline the penalty to keep the score. Rule 8-2-3 is the reference. The opponents of the scoring team did commit a foul and there was a change of possession, but the foul occurred prior to the change of possession. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Which ruleset? I believe your answer is that the penalty must be declined. |
Canadian Ruling
Quote:
This is Loose Ball Interference and would be declined so that B keeps the touchdown. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Yes, A21. thank you for catching the mistake.
|
Quote:
Quote:
Funny Loose Ball Interference vid: YouTube - Quarter back spikes ball and it hits himself in the nuts |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:41pm. |