The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Delay of Game on Field Goal (https://forum.officiating.com/football/59091-delay-game-field-goal.html)

BroKen62 Wed Sep 15, 2010 11:35am

Delay of Game on Field Goal
 
K lines up on 3rd down for 42 yard field goal to end first half. R blows the RFP. Side Judge doesn't recognize field goal, and fails to move to proper position. Umpire stands over the ball, gives SJ time to move under goal, then moves back to his position. Just before the snap, BJ blows and throws a delay of game. What is the right thing to do?

Rich Wed Sep 15, 2010 11:37am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BroKen62 (Post 692430)
K lines up on 3rd down for 42 yard field goal to end first half. R blows the RFP. Side Judge doesn't recognize field goal, and fails to move to proper position. Umpire stands over the ball, gives SJ time to move under goal, then moves back to his position. Just before the snap, BJ blows and throws a delay of game. What is the right thing to do?

Wave it off.

Actually, if I couldn't get my wing under the posts in a timely manner, I'd call and official's timeout to make sure he moved. Then I'd hit another RFP and we wouldn't have to worry about a delay.

Ahhhh, a side judge. If only we had those where I live for HS games.

MD Longhorn Wed Sep 15, 2010 01:13pm

Seems to me that if you're working at a level that uses a Side Judge, your crew would be of such a quality that A) this would never ever happen, and B) if somehow it did, R would stop play and give a new RFP when SJ was ready.

JRutledge Wed Sep 15, 2010 01:52pm

Doesn't the SJ go to the LOS the same way the umpire does?

Peace

ppaltice Wed Sep 15, 2010 03:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 692459)
Doesn't the SJ go to the LOS the same way the umpire does?

Peace

Depends on the mechanics. In AHSAA 6 man mechanics, SJ is under the post. In 7 man, SJ is in double umpire position (BJ and FJ under uprights).

This was an error on the officials, not Team A. No DOG in my opinion.

MD Longhorn Wed Sep 15, 2010 03:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 692459)
Doesn't the SJ go to the LOS the same way the umpire does?

Peace

Wow. You didn't know this? How can you look at yourself in the mirror each day?

BroKen62 Wed Sep 15, 2010 04:43pm

Forgive me for my misinformation - I meant LJ. It was a 5 man crew, and this time I wasn't a part of it - I was in the stands. I thought the WH should have at least waved it off. After they marked off 5 yds, the kid missed the FG by about 6 inches.

Robert Goodman Wed Sep 15, 2010 11:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BroKen62 (Post 692430)
K lines up on 3rd down for 42 yard field goal to end first half. R blows the RFP. Side Judge doesn't recognize field goal, and fails to move to proper position. Umpire stands over the ball, gives SJ time to move under goal, then moves back to his position. Just before the snap, BJ blows and throws a delay of game. What is the right thing to do?

What exactly do you mean by "K lines up"? Did it look as if U's standing over the ball prevented K's snapper from putting his hands on the ball at a time that K's snapper wanted to?

JRutledge Wed Sep 15, 2010 11:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder (Post 692477)
Wow. You didn't know this? How can you look at yourself in the mirror each day?

Who said I did not know this? That is what happens in a CCA 7 man mechanic. But then again I do understand (like said before) not everyone uses the same mechanics. Bet you did not know that did you? ;)

Peace

JugglingReferee Thu Sep 16, 2010 12:13am

Canadian Ruling
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BroKen62 (Post 692430)
K lines up on 3rd down for 42 yard field goal to end first half. R blows the RFP. Side Judge doesn't recognize field goal, and fails to move to proper position. Umpire stands over the ball, gives SJ time to move under goal, then moves back to his position. Just before the snap, BJ blows and throws a delay of game. What is the right thing to do?

CANADIAN RULING:

Our mechanics are designed to prevent this from possibly happening.

But it it does happen, then I'd hope that the R would reset the play clock.

CANADIAN MECHANICS:

The side guy on K's side must see the FG team come on, and signal the crew accordingly. The BJ and FJ will also get into position, and help the other(s) be aware of the FGA.

The U already over the ball, and when the crew is in place, the R waives off the U and whistles the RFP when all are in position. This whole process often takes 3-4 seconds, and is 99.99% completed before K breaks their huddle/gets to the line.

JugglingReferee Thu Sep 16, 2010 12:16am

Canadian Ruling
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BroKen62 (Post 692484)
Forgive me for my misinformation - I meant LJ. It was a 5 man crew, and this time I wasn't a part of it - I was in the stands. I thought the WH should have at least waved it off. After they marked off 5 yds, the kid missed the FG by about 6 inches.

CANADIAN RULING:

If the side guy who is supposed to go under the uprights isn't in position, the R will have yet to blow in the RFP. If he has, then someone should kill the play and let the side guy get in position. If they miss this opportunity, then it's all the BU.

mbyron Thu Sep 16, 2010 04:58am

Quote:

Originally Posted by 1331520 (Post 692518)
I lightly come lightly go.

Might be the best description of spamming ever posted.

BroKen62 Thu Sep 16, 2010 09:00am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Robert Goodman (Post 692543)
What exactly do you mean by "K lines up"? Did it look as if U's standing over the ball prevented K's snapper from putting his hands on the ball at a time that K's snapper wanted to?

Ref blows ready, A/K breaks huddle, comes up to LOS, snapper places hands on the ball, holder takes a knee, kicker is in position, Ref notices LJ not in position, signals U, U steps up, makes snapper release the ball, waits until LJ is under goal, and then backs up. Took about 7-9 seconds off the 25 second clock.

Robert Goodman Thu Sep 16, 2010 01:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BroKen62 (Post 692588)
Ref blows ready, A/K breaks huddle, comes up to LOS, snapper places hands on the ball, holder takes a knee, kicker is in position, Ref notices LJ not in position, signals U, U steps up, makes snapper release the ball, waits until LJ is under goal, and then backs up. Took about 7-9 seconds off the 25 second clock.

Makes the answer pretty obvious, doesn't it?

BroKen62 Thu Sep 16, 2010 02:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Robert Goodman (Post 692689)
Makes the answer pretty obvious, doesn't it?

I thought so. I thought the WH handled that absolutely wrong, but wanted to see what the rest of you thought.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:27am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1