The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Great Way to Start the Week (https://forum.officiating.com/football/59082-great-way-start-week.html)

TNStripes Tue Sep 14, 2010 08:58am

Great Way to Start the Week
 
Monday Night - Two Talented Physical Freshman Teams - 3 man crew

Opening kickoff is a hard angled kick heading quickly out of bounds at the R 35. K1 in a full sprint, lays out and touches ball before it crosses the sideline. Ball is thought to have crossed out of bounds and whistle is sounded...then Official looks up and sees R1 holding ball and standing about a foot in bounds two yards down field from him.

Please provide thought process and references on both results if a) whistle was sounded while ball was still "loose" or b) whistle was sounded while possessed by R. Also rule on FT or KCI as applicable then choices, spots, and succeeding spots to put the ball back in play.

We all know field coverage and responsibilities are shot due to this being worked with a three man crew.

mbyron Tue Sep 14, 2010 12:09pm

Straightforward inadvertent whistle.

If the kick has not ended, rekick per 4-2-3(a):
The down shall be replayed if, during a down or during a down in which the
penalty for a foul is declined, an inadvertent whistle is sounded while a legal
forward pass or snap is in flight, or during a legal kick.

If the kick has ended, R chooses whether to take the ball there or rekick per 4-2-3(c):
The team in possession may choose to either accept the results of the play
at the dead-ball spot or replay the down if, during a down or during a down
in which the penalty for a foul is declined, an inadvertent whistle is sounded
while the ball is in player possession.

If K touched the kick in flight you have KCI, otherwise not.

4-2-3 trumps first touching here.

ppaltice Thu Sep 16, 2010 09:19am

Adding to MB. If K touches the kick in flight, it is KCI. If that occurred, R can accept the foul (awarded fair catch or 15 yds and rekick). Fouls take precedence over IWs (but, as MB said, First Touching does not).

mbyron Thu Sep 16, 2010 09:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ppaltice (Post 692592)
If K touches the kick in flight, it is KCI. If that occurred, R can accept the foul (awarded fair catch or 15 yds and rekick). Fouls take precedence over IWs.

Good point.

bkdow Thu Sep 16, 2010 12:28pm

Is it not KCI only if the R was trying to play the ball? If they were no nowhere near it, is it still KCI?

Welpe Thu Sep 16, 2010 12:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bkdow (Post 692648)
Is it not KCI only if the R was trying to play the ball? If they were no nowhere near it, is it still KCI?

On an airborne free kick, yes it is. Team B does NOT have to be in a position to catch the kick.

ppaltice Thu Sep 16, 2010 12:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bkdow (Post 692648)
Is it not KCI only if the R was trying to play the ball? If they were no nowhere near it, is it still KCI?

NFHS rules: For a Free Kick, K can not touch the kick in flight. For a Scrimmage Kick, K can touch the kick in flight if no R player is in position to catch th ball (6-5-6).

Robert Goodman Thu Sep 16, 2010 01:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bkdow (Post 692648)
Is it not KCI only if the R was trying to play the ball? If they were no nowhere near it, is it still KCI?

Even if it was NCAA rules, how could R1 come up with the ball so fast if that were the case?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:18am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1