The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 07, 2010, 11:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by parepat View Post
The question I have is how long do we wait after the ball comes to rest before we kill it?
Until we judge that no player is attempting to secure possession. 4-2-2(e)(2)
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 07, 2010, 12:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 146
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
Until we judge that no player is attempting to secure possession. 4-2-2(e)(2)
Yeah, I agree with that - it wasn't like we stood there looking at and then finally K touched it -it was like it stopped rolling and immediately k touched it, then R scooped it up.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 07, 2010, 12:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 236
We had a similar one last wekend as well. Punt was partially blocked, rebounded in the air about 5 yards beyond the NZ where K caught it. Our very alert HL blew it dead as soon as he caught it then had a look of momentary terror wondering if he should have blown it dead. As R , I wandered over to my HL to be sure what we had.

2 questions came to mind that we answered quickly and I believe correctly:

1. Did the partially blocked kick by R allow K to advance the kick. answer is "no" becasue touching of low scrimmage kick by R in or behind the nuetrual zone is ignored. So K still cannot advance since he caught it beyond the NZ.

2. did this play have the possiblitlity for kick catching interference if any R was in postion to catch this partially blocked kick? We said "yes" and decided quickly that there were no Rs in the area.

So, we had a partially blocked punt and "a lot of nothin" quickly afterward.

comments or quibles?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 07, 2010, 03:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by whitehat View Post
We had a similar one last wekend as well. Punt was partially blocked, rebounded in the air about 5 yards beyond the NZ where K caught it. Our very alert HL blew it dead as soon as he caught it then had a look of momentary terror wondering if he should have blown it dead. As R , I wandered over to my HL to be sure what we had.

2 questions came to mind that we answered quickly and I believe correctly:

1. Did the partially blocked kick by R allow K to advance the kick. answer is "no" becasue touching of low scrimmage kick by R in or behind the nuetrual zone is ignored. So K still cannot advance since he caught it beyond the NZ.

2. did this play have the possiblitlity for kick catching interference if any R was in postion to catch this partially blocked kick? We said "yes" and decided quickly that there were no Rs in the area.

So, we had a partially blocked punt and "a lot of nothin" quickly afterward.

comments or quibles?
I believe you did it correctly. Partial block behind the nz, the touching is ignored. No kick catching interference when it was downed. Play is over, not penalty. Turn the ball over to R on the spot of K's first-touch and the ball game moves on.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 08, 2010, 06:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by whitehat View Post
We had a similar one last wekend as well. Punt was partially blocked, rebounded in the air about 5 yards beyond the NZ where K caught it. Our very alert HL blew it dead as soon as he caught it then had a look of momentary terror wondering if he should have blown it dead. As R , I wandered over to my HL to be sure what we had.

2 questions came to mind that we answered quickly and I believe correctly:

1. Did the partially blocked kick by R allow K to advance the kick. answer is "no" becasue touching of low scrimmage kick by R in or behind the nuetrual zone is ignored. So K still cannot advance since he caught it beyond the NZ.

2. did this play have the possiblitlity for kick catching interference if any R was in postion to catch this partially blocked kick? We said "yes" and decided quickly that there were no Rs in the area.

So, we had a partially blocked punt and "a lot of nothin" quickly afterward.

comments or quibles?
Your ruling and thinking were quite correct.

One tiny quibble: touching by R is ignored if it occurs in or behind the expanded neutral zone.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
R in Punt Position Ed Hickland Football 10 Wed Aug 13, 2008 07:14pm
Punt ML99 Football 13 Tue Apr 22, 2008 01:35pm
Punt it Twice golfdesigner Football 2 Sun Sep 30, 2007 08:42am
punt yankeesfan Football 2 Sun Oct 16, 2005 05:53pm
FG used as punt cougarcoach Football 18 Fri Oct 07, 2005 12:59pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:01am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1