The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Punt behind NZ (https://forum.officiating.com/football/59030-punt-behind-nz.html)

Robert Goodman Tue Sep 07, 2010 04:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee (Post 691372)
Also, a ball would never come to rest in Canada.

Yeah, because those winds are murder!

asdf Tue Sep 07, 2010 06:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 691423)
I doub he knew he could run with it or that he could have kicked it again.

Agreed.

Have had K grab the ball, get the deer in the headlights look, then put the ball on the ground.....

....followed by R picking the ball up and running........


Each situation is a cluster because not many players know what to do with a kick recovered by K behind the NZ.

mbyron Wed Sep 08, 2010 06:15am

Quote:

Originally Posted by whitehat (Post 691405)
We had a similar one last wekend as well. Punt was partially blocked, rebounded in the air about 5 yards beyond the NZ where K caught it. Our very alert HL blew it dead as soon as he caught it then had a look of momentary terror wondering if he should have blown it dead. As R , I wandered over to my HL to be sure what we had.

2 questions came to mind that we answered quickly and I believe correctly:

1. Did the partially blocked kick by R allow K to advance the kick. answer is "no" becasue touching of low scrimmage kick by R in or behind the nuetrual zone is ignored. So K still cannot advance since he caught it beyond the NZ.

2. did this play have the possiblitlity for kick catching interference if any R was in postion to catch this partially blocked kick? We said "yes" and decided quickly that there were no Rs in the area.

So, we had a partially blocked punt and "a lot of nothin" quickly afterward.

comments or quibles?;)

Your ruling and thinking were quite correct.

One tiny quibble: touching by R is ignored if it occurs in or behind the expanded neutral zone.

JugglingReferee Wed Sep 08, 2010 09:04am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Robert Goodman (Post 691436)
Yeah, because those winds are murder!

I do believe we had some hurricane effect winds here the other day. They near blew me over!

cdoug Thu Sep 09, 2010 07:24am

Quote:

Originally Posted by asdf (Post 691375)
He could also have kicked it again.

Okay, I probably missed it when looking for it but could someone please give me a reference for this. :o

Rich Thu Sep 09, 2010 07:41am

The scenario we passed around at our association meeting last night was:

K punts.

R muffs the punt beyond the neutral zone.

Ball goes back behind the NZ and K recovers and ...

Doubtful R is going to be happy, regardless what K does at that point (unless they kick it again).

mbyron Thu Sep 09, 2010 09:14am

Quote:

Originally Posted by cdoug (Post 691589)
Okay, I probably missed it when looking for it but could someone please give me a reference for this. :o

Sure, 6-2-1.

cdoug Thu Sep 09, 2010 09:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 691596)
Sure, 6-2-1.

Thanks. I missed that little part that said "before team possession has changed" and was thinking that it was like a forward pass, I guess. :o


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:43pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1