The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Windy Day (https://forum.officiating.com/football/59001-windy-day.html)

sportsref Thu Sep 02, 2010 11:45am

Windy Day
 
I don't have rulebook/casebook handy.

On a scrimmage kick, the ball crosses the line of scrimmage in the air and blows back to K's side of the line of scrimmage. Can K pick the ball up and try to make the line of gain or is the ball dead when K picks up the ball?

Please state rule reference...thanks

mbyron Thu Sep 02, 2010 11:52am

6-2-3:
"Any K player may catch or recover a scrimmage kick while it is in
or behind the neutral zone and advance, unless it is during a try."

Where the ball was before recovery is irrelevant: whether or not the kick crosses the NZ initially, if it ends up in or behind the NZ, K may recover and advance it (unless during a try).

Mike L Thu Sep 02, 2010 01:18pm

NCAA = 6-3-1 & 2-15-7

K may advance a scrimmage kick it recovers in or behind the nz if it has not gone beyond the nz. And, since in your case it never touched anything beyond the nz, it is not considered to have gone beyond the nz. If it did touch anything beyond the nz, then it's dead where K recovers.

GoodwillRef Thu Sep 02, 2010 01:30pm

Hey Sportsref...is this your first year officiating football? Where are you located...Montana?

sportsref Thu Sep 02, 2010 01:47pm

Windy Day
 
MB & MIke, thanks for the info. Hey Goodwill, don't make me toss you into Lake Michigan because you know how TOUGH I am.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:37pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1