The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Snap problem (https://forum.officiating.com/football/58983-snap-problem.html)

Mike51 Tue Aug 31, 2010 12:36pm

Snap problem
 
NFHS Just before the snap, nose guard slaps the ball away from the center. I flagged this as delay of game. Correct?

Welpe Tue Aug 31, 2010 01:07pm

It would be encroachment but the penalty is the same.

mbyron Tue Aug 31, 2010 02:41pm

I would have the umpire tell him not to do that, so it'll be USC next time.

JugglingReferee Tue Aug 31, 2010 03:39pm

Canadian Ruling
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Mike51 (Post 690825)
Just before the snap, nose guard slaps the ball away from the center.

CANADIAN RULING:

At the very least, Team B offside. I could be convinced to call OC, though.

MRH Wed Sep 01, 2010 07:04pm

According to our state rep. for the NFHS this is either a snap infraction by A, if A did not snap the ball in one-continuous motion or encroachment by B.

Reffing Rev. Wed Sep 01, 2010 10:28pm

If he were a jerk about it I could be too
 
So he encroached when his hand broke the plane, which it probably did moments before contacting the ball unlesss he hit the nose of the football sqarely, this caused the ball to remain dead, and then he slapped away a dead ball, which fits as delay in my book.

ODJ Wed Sep 01, 2010 10:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MRH (Post 690930)
According to our state rep. for the NFHS this is either a snap infraction by A, if A did not snap the ball in one-continuous motion or encroachment by B.

Thanks for the tip: Don't work ball in your state. Yeesh.

MRH Wed Sep 01, 2010 11:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ODJ (Post 690953)
Thanks for the tip: Don't work ball in your state. Yeesh.

My understanding is this was the response from the NFHS.

mbyron Thu Sep 02, 2010 06:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by MRH (Post 690930)
According to our state rep. for the NFHS this is either a snap infraction by A, if A did not snap the ball in one-continuous motion or encroachment by B.

If this came from NFHS, then I suspect the point is that the covering official must in the general case judge whether the snapper committed a snap infraction that prompted B's slapping the ball.

That answer addresses a more general case than the one in the OP, which does not mention the possibility of a snap infraction. It is still useful in answering the OP, however, where the officials incorrectly penalized a delay of game foul.

Whatever the foul, B slaps a dead ball and cannot possibly recover it. And, again, in my game unless we have a snap infraction B gets to make this "mistake" just once before being penalized 15 yards.

MRH Thu Sep 02, 2010 08:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 690970)
And, again, in my game unless we have a snap infraction B gets to make this "mistake" just once before being penalized 15 yards.

No argument here.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:58pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1