The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   scrimmage kick (https://forum.officiating.com/football/58953-scrimmage-kick.html)

yankeesfan Sun Aug 29, 2010 05:28pm

scrimmage kick
 
a scrimmage kick that comes to a complete stop with the receiving team not making an attempt to pick up the ball, can the kicking team just touch the ball to down it without possessing it? would you blow it dead or consider it first touching if the player just touches it? if i can get a rule or page number i would greatly appreciate it.

Robert Goodman Sun Aug 29, 2010 05:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by yankeesfan (Post 690604)
a scrimmage kick that comes to a complete stop with the receiving team not making an attempt to pick up the ball, can the kicking team just touch the ball to down it without possessing it? would you blow it dead or consider it first touching if the player just touches it? if i can get a rule or page number i would greatly appreciate it.

I can't cite current references, but in all USAn codes those conditions don't even require a touching; the ball is dead if it stops with R making no attempt. Even in Canadian rules now if both K & R are making no attempt on it, it's dead.

ddn Sun Aug 29, 2010 06:02pm

4.2.2.f

ART. 2 . . . The ball becomes dead and the down is ended:
f. When the kickers catch or recover any free kick anywhere, and when the
kickers catch or recover a scrimmage kick beyond the neutral zone and
when the kickers are first (i.e., before any touching by the receivers) to
touch a scrimmage kick after it has come to rest beyond the neutral zone
and between the goal lines.

yankeesfan Sun Aug 29, 2010 07:15pm

i think i found it. rule 6-2-5.

BroKen62 Sun Aug 29, 2010 07:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by yankeesfan (Post 690625)
i think i found it. rule 6-2-5.

Looks to me like ddn found it too.

yankeesfan Sun Aug 29, 2010 07:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BroKen62 (Post 690630)
Looks to me like ddn found it too.


gee thanks.

BroKen62 Sun Aug 29, 2010 07:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by yankeesfan (Post 690631)
gee thanks.

No problem, just trying to be a blessing.:D

JugglingReferee Sun Aug 29, 2010 09:55pm

Canadian Ruling
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by yankeesfan (Post 690604)
a scrimmage kick that comes to a complete stop with the receiving team not making an attempt to pick up the ball, can the kicking team just touch the ball to down it without possessing it? would you blow it dead or consider it first touching if the player just touches it? if i can get a rule or page number i would greatly appreciate it.

CANADIAN RULING:

Eventually an onside player or the punter will be downfield and will try to recover the live ball. So B will definitely try to recover the ball prior to that happening.

mbyron Mon Aug 30, 2010 05:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BroKen62 (Post 690633)
No problem, just trying to be a blessing.:D

Good disguise. :D

Robert Goodman Mon Aug 30, 2010 03:53pm

Are you guys saying that the provisions that used to make a loose ball dead if nobody tried to play it are gone now?

mbyron Mon Aug 30, 2010 04:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Robert Goodman (Post 690762)
Are you guys saying that the provisions that used to make a loose ball dead if nobody tried to play it are gone now?

Nothing I've posted implies that.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:29am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1