The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Need help answering a scenario (https://forum.officiating.com/football/58932-need-help-answering-scenario.html)

movingthechains Fri Aug 27, 2010 02:06am

Need help answering a scenario
 
A17 drops back to pass from the A 42, while scrambling to avoid a sack, he grabs the facemask of B57 and pulls him down out of the way. He throws the ball beyond the LOS where B32 intercepts the pass. During the run following change of possession, B77 holds A61. The ball is blown dead at the A35.

JugglingReferee Fri Aug 27, 2010 05:19am

Canadian Ruling
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by movingthechains (Post 690371)
A17 drops back to pass from the A 42, while scrambling to avoid a sack, he grabs the facemask of B57 and pulls him down out of the way. He throws the ball beyond the LOS where B32 intercepts the pass. During the run following change of possession, B77 holds A61. The ball is blown dead at the A35.

CANADIAN RULING:

B will accept the A facemask and choose to apply it after the COP. Therefore, A will accept the B hold to lessen the yardage effect of the facemask.

Result: Team B 1D/10 @ 5 yards ahead of the spot of where the ball was when then B hold occurred.

MRH Fri Aug 27, 2010 05:23am

NFHS - If B accepts the facemask penalty then we have a double foul and the down is replayed. B can keep the ball by declining A's foul. A will probably accept B's holding foul which will be enforced under the all-but-one.

parepat Fri Aug 27, 2010 07:35am

B would also need to decline A's illegal forward pass foul in order to retain possession.

bkdow Fri Aug 27, 2010 08:06am

If I read this correctly, the forward pass was executed behind the LOS but was thrown past the LOS. In that case, there would be no illegal forward pass. Agree with MRH.

MD Longhorn Fri Aug 27, 2010 08:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by parepat (Post 690397)
B would also need to decline A's illegal forward pass foul in order to retain possession.

What was illegal about the forward pass?

HLin NC Fri Aug 27, 2010 09:58am

Objection, facts not in evidence.:confused:

JugglingReferee Fri Aug 27, 2010 10:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by parepat (Post 690397)
B would also need to decline A's illegal forward pass foul in order to retain possession.

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder (Post 690410)
What was illegal about the forward pass?

I'm not sure what the OP meant, but if parepat is right, the OP should have been:

Quote:

Originally Posted by movingthechains
A17 drops back to pass from the A 42, while scrambling to avoid a sack, he grabs the facemask of B57 and pulls him down out of the way. He throws the ball FROM beyond the LOS where B32 intercepts the pass. During the run following change of possession, B77 holds A61. The ball is blown dead at the A35.


MRH Fri Aug 27, 2010 10:50am

Quote:

Objection, facts not in evidence.
Objection sustained! :D

mbyron Fri Aug 27, 2010 11:04am

Quote:

Originally Posted by parepat (Post 690397)
B would also need to decline A's illegal forward pass foul in order to retain possession.

I think you misunderstood the expression "throws the ball beyond the LOS." The OP meant that the ball went beyond the LOS, not the passer.

MD Longhorn Fri Aug 27, 2010 12:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 690433)
I think you misunderstood the expression "throws the ball beyond the LOS." The OP meant that the ball went beyond the LOS, not the passer.

That's how I read it too.

mbyron Fri Aug 27, 2010 02:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 690433)
I think you misunderstood the expression "throws the ball beyond the LOS." The OP meant that the ball went beyond the LOS, not the passer.

I should have said:
The OP meant that the ball, not the passer, went beyond the LOS.

Apologies all around.

movingthechains Fri Aug 27, 2010 05:18pm

thanks
 
thanks for the responses, the thing that got me got some of you. Once I clarified that the passer was not beyond the LOS but the ball was thrown beyond the LOS it was easier.

tomes1978 Fri Aug 27, 2010 09:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by movingthechains (Post 690485)
thanks for the responses, the thing that got me got some of you. Once I clarified that the passer was not beyond the LOS but the ball was thrown beyond the LOS it was easier.

It still would not change it even if it was an illegal forward pass. B still would have got the ball with clean hands. They just would have had to decline two penalties instead of one.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:45am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1