The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Live or Dead ball after kick (https://forum.officiating.com/football/5866-live-dead-ball-after-kick.html)

Bigdawgg65 Wed Sep 25, 2002 10:12am

I need a little help with clarification using NFHS rules.

This has happened in a couple of different ways:

At a kick off or punt R catches or picks up the ball with a knee on the ground. Is this dead at the spot of the catch or pickup?
***
At a kickoff R muffs the catch at the 1 and the ball rolls into the R end zone. Can R run the ball out?
Or
Is this ruled a touchback because the ball broke the plane.

***
Punt from the Ks 3 yard line for the 4th down.

Ball is poorly kick and lands 1 yard past the line of scrimmage in R NZ. The ball makes contact with R lineman, who is oblivious to the location of the ball, and the ball bounces back over the line of scrimmage and is picked up by K and run for a forward gain of 3 yds but not past the fist down marker.

Who's ball is it ?

STEVED21 Wed Sep 25, 2002 10:42am

Wellcome Bigdawgg,

Hope I can help.

1. The ball is dead if caught or recovered with R's knee on the ground.

2. This is a touchback. Any kick that breaks the goal line is a touchback. The fact that R touched the ball has no effect in FED.

Quote:

Originally posted by Bigdawgg65
Punt from the Ks 3 yard line for the 4th down.

Ball is poorly kick and lands 1 yard past the line of scrimmage in R NZ. The ball makes contact with R lineman, who is oblivious to the location of the ball, and the ball bounces back over the line of scrimmage and is picked up by K and run for a forward gain of 3 yds but not past the fist down marker.

Who's ball is it ? [/B]
3. I am a little confused by this question. If the ball is past the line of scrimmage it is also in advance of the neutral zone. However, by rule, if R touches a scrimmage kick beyond the neutral zone, the team in possession at the end of the down will begin a new series. In your post, 1st and 10 A.

Theisey Wed Sep 25, 2002 10:54am

Quote:

Originally posted by Bigdawgg65
I need a little help with clarification using NFHS rules.

This has happened in a couple of different ways:

At a kick off or punt R catches or picks up the ball with a knee on the ground. Is this dead at the spot of the catch or pickup?
***


Good NFHS questions to ask.
Knee on the ground with the ball in player possession is a criteria for declaring the play over. Ball dead at that spot. (comment: There has been talk of changing that rule for this specific case, but no movement has been made on it.
Quote:


At a kickoff R muffs the catch at the 1 and the ball rolls into the R end zone. Can R run the ball out?
Or
Is this ruled a touchback because the ball broke the plane.
***


Correct, rule a TB.
Quote:


Punt from the Ks 3 yard line for the 4th down.

Ball is poorly kick and lands 1 yard past the line of scrimmage in R NZ. The ball makes contact with R lineman, who is oblivious to the location of the ball, and the ball bounces back over the line of scrimmage and is picked up by K and run for a forward gain of 3 yds but not past the fist down marker.

Who's ball is it ?

Well, you have two things here. Team-K may advance the kick since they recovered it behind the NZ. They still have to make the line to gain to retain the ball.
However, you also have Team-R touching the ball beyond the NZ. Since in this play, the touch was not forced touching nor was it touching of a low scrimmage kick in the expanded NZ area, Team-K will be granted a first down no matter where they are finally downed. The continuity of downs has changed by team-Rs touching of the ball as I stated.
Tough call to make, but that kind of stuff happens in close just as it happens downfield.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:17pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1