![]() |
High School Rules:
Team A sets up for an extra point kick, the ball is hiked to the holder who gets up off his knee and attempts to throw a pass, the officail blows the play dead as the holders knee was down. Correct Call??? |
"...the ball is kicked to the holder who gets uo of his knee..."
Help us out with that part of your question. |
Quote:
|
The Kicker was there, the holder just got up off his knees and was starting to move when the officials blew the play dead.
|
Wow! How did you edit that post without getting the little edited note at the bottom? :)
As long as the holder gets up before he passes or hands off the ball, the play is legal and the holder is not down. |
Quote:
(1) Edit it before anyone else reads it. (2) Take a post you've edited, edit it again, and take out the "this has been edited . . ." warning. -Chalk up 1 more posting for the ol' MD- |
Sounds like the play was blown dead prematurely. The holder can rise to become a runner/passer. He can also rise to catch an errant snap, kneel back down, and then rise again to become a runner/passer.
He can't, however, pass the ball backwards or forwards while his knee is still on the ground; that causes the ball to become dead immediately. |
Quote:
Bob |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
Here's my first edit. And my second should clear everything. [Edited by Mark Dexter on Sep 16th, 2002 at 09:42 PM] |
I am not sure how, I got it edited about half minute after I posted, Baskeball ref must have read it just before I edited it, so maybe the speed of my editing.
|
Quote:
Smoke, yeah, looking at the time frame, you must have edited it after I copied it but before I replied. I edit my posts all the time, just after posting them. Sometimes I don't spell worth a krap! :D Oh well, it was just sorta freaky. |
Quote:
(Just after I edited it the first time). |
Quote:
I could have sworn I've done that before . . . Anywhoo, it earns me 4 more posts. :) |
NCAA and NF differences.
In reply to your initial question: Under NF rules the holder can catch the snap with a knee on the ground and rise to run, pass, etc. This rule is the same for a field goal and a try. Sounds like there was an inadvertent whistle in your situation. (The penalty for an early whistle in our association is a case of the crew's favorite fermented beverage).
I know that in NCAA rules the holder can have a knee on the ground, catch the snap, and pass it to a teammate without rising off the ground. Under NCAA can the holder do this for a field goal and also on the try? |
More on NF extra points and field goals.
Just wanted to add these play situations that were discussed at last night's meeting:
Field goal is blocked behind the line, either K or R can recover in or behind the line and advance. (NF and NCAA). Try kick is blocked behind the line, the play is dead when it is apparent the kick will not score(watch for tipped kicks that continue in flight towards the goal posts). (NF only). I believe that under NCAA rules the ball remains live. Can somebody help me out on this? |
Yes. Under NCAA rules, the blocked kick can be returned by the defense for 2 points.
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:14am. |