| 
 
			
			Rule 3-4-3i.  The clock starts on the snap when the penalty for a delay of game foul is accepted.
 Last Saturday, the referee started the clock on the ready after a delay of game penalty was assessed.  The reason given was that the clock was running (previous play was a running play that ended inbounds).
 
 My question is this: Does the referee have the authority under the rules to start the clock on the ready after a delay of game penalty is accepted?  If so, what is the rule reference?  I always thought that the clock starts on the snap after every delay of game foul if it is accepted.
 
 Carpe Diem!
 
				__________________Mike Simonds
 |