![]() |
When the R is to give a sideline warning (1st offense), does he face the team bench area and give the signal, or face the pressbox (similar to reporting a penalty)?
|
Same as he would for any other signal. Issue S15 to the press box, then point in the direction of the team it was giving against.
As a wing official, I would have already given the signal directly to the Team before this "official" signal. |
I seem to remember watching a college game last year (Steve Spurrier) and the referee gave the signal to the team box and not the pressbox.
|
Could be a conference thing, but considering any offical can stop the clock and issue the signal to the team bench, there seems to be no real need to have the Referee issue it again to the team bench.
All he needs to do is inform the press box people and point to the team. Well, like I said, it may be a conference mechanic. NFHS mechanics manual seems to agree with what I'm saying. Check if out on pg 20 if you like. |
Sideline warning (1st) procedure.
How we do it over here: Wing official blows his whistle (prior to the snap), throws flag and gives sideline warning signal (#15) while facing the offending coaches box. Referee will then repeat the signal while facing the press box and point to the offending team. If he uses a microphone he will also explain the call at that time. Wing official will explain the warning to the coach.
|
NFHS guidelines (and for that matter NCAA for for the first two) do NOT want a flag for the first sideline warning. All that is required is to let everyone know via the signal what's going on, and to inform the head coach what will happen if there is another.
|
Thanks for the replies. The manual is not as clear as it could be. It says the referee "will give proper signal and indicate offending sideline." This appears to be different than what the officials manual section for administering penalties says... the referee gives the "signal for foul to the press-box side of the field only."
I agree that no flag should be dropped (according to the manual) as there is no foul being called, just a warning. However, I do not understand why they want the covering official giving the signal before reporting to the R and then again as the R is giving the signal. |
Quote:
Quote:
Besides, under NFHS rules we only get to do this one time as the second time we toss a flag for a SW and just report this to the Ref as with any other foul. |
Quote:
|
Maybe this is a team "we officials" would not want have to deal with again.
A novel way to scratch a team from our schedule. [Edited by Theisey on Aug 26th, 2002 at 04:05 PM] |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:34pm. |