The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   A little late but, (https://forum.officiating.com/football/56145-little-late-but.html)

novacane Tue Dec 29, 2009 03:35pm

A little late but,
 
I know that this is a little late but I've never had someone give me a clear answer about this question (Also I tried to search for it on here but nothing came up):

http://img39.imageshack.us/img39/7114/outofbounds.jpg

How is this keeping both feet inbounds? I thought both had to touch the ground to be a complete pass?

Adam Tue Dec 29, 2009 03:41pm

I'm no football ref; but it sure seems to me that it's impossible to tell from a still photo. Sorry partner. Time to let it go, Senator.

novacane Tue Dec 29, 2009 03:46pm

Alright lets try video, look at about 26 seconds you can clearly see his foot not touching?

Video Of Steelers WR Santonio Holmes Super Bowl 43 Touchdown Catch | Steelers Depot Blog

Welpe Tue Dec 29, 2009 03:47pm

Both feet have to touch in bounds while the player has possession of the ball. This still photo only captures a moment, not the entire play. There is no requirement for the feet to remain in bounds.

novacane Tue Dec 29, 2009 03:53pm

Here's another angle of when he first catches/gains possession of the ball:

http://images.dailyradar.com/media/u...r_bowl_mvp.jpg

With the two pictures and the video I posted above, it seems to me that he never touched his foot.

Adam Tue Dec 29, 2009 03:57pm

It's been almost a year, so I've forgotten. What was the call on the field?

novacane Tue Dec 29, 2009 03:59pm

The reciever controlled the football, came down on both toes, inbounds and it was ruled a touchdown.

Welpe Tue Dec 29, 2009 04:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 646683)
It's been almost a year, so I've forgotten. What was the call on the field?

Touchdown. Confirmed (or not over-turned anyways) by replay too.

Still pictures in this case won't tell you much. I'll go with the calling official on this play.

novacane Tue Dec 29, 2009 04:01pm

I understand still pictures wont tell you everything, that's why i posted the video. The still pictures give you reference for where the foot is at certain parts of the catch and the video links it all together.

Adam Tue Dec 29, 2009 04:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by novacane (Post 646684)
The reciever controlled the football, came down on both toes, inbounds and it was ruled a touchdown.

Watched the video. Looks to me like his right toe touches first, then his left toe touches. As his left toe touches, or even slightly before, his right comes off the turf and then he lands OOB.

Looks to me like video confirms the call. Sorry, partner.

This is just more evidence that still photos don't prove anything.

Welpe Tue Dec 29, 2009 04:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by novacane (Post 646684)
The reciever controlled the football, came down on both toes, inbounds and it was ruled a touchdown.

So you agree he had both feet down but are disputing the call? :confused:

novacane Tue Dec 29, 2009 04:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 646688)
So you agree he had both feet down but are disputing the call? :confused:

Oh no I was just telling him what the officials called it because he asked.

Adam Tue Dec 29, 2009 04:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 646688)
So you agree he had both feet down but are disputing the call? :confused:

I think he was answering my question about what the call on the field was.

Welpe Tue Dec 29, 2009 04:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 646690)
I think he was answering my question about what the call on the field was.

Seemed more like a description of the events to me. ;)

novacane Tue Dec 29, 2009 04:08pm

Alright then, thanks guys for the speedy responses. :)

Sonofanump Tue Dec 29, 2009 04:41pm

Being from Ohio, I would have perferred Pittsburgh not to win.

Being an official, glad to see the call was correctly called on the field and correctly confirmed in the booth.

Have a good day now.

jaybird Tue Dec 29, 2009 08:59pm

Still shots are inadmissible and the video angles proved to be inconclusive, so I'll go with the calling official who was in perfect position about 20' from the receiver.

waltjp Wed Dec 30, 2009 12:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jaybird (Post 646760)
Still shots are inadmissible and the video angles proved to be inconclusive, so I'll go with the calling official who was in perfect position about 20' from the receiver.

I don't think the video is inconclusive at all. Look at the second photo that was posted. Holmes' right foot was fully extended. If you watch the video you can see his right foot flex as he hits the ground. There's no question about the left foot and he had complete control of the ball.

Touchdown. Excellent call!

With_Two_Flakes Wed Dec 30, 2009 03:23pm

...and we were lucky enough to be able to fly the calling official (Greg Gatreaux) over to the UK to be the guest speaker at our 2 day football training clinic in April 2009.

http://i49.tinypic.com/qn6vb6.jpg

Time2Ref Tue Jan 05, 2010 06:28am

Touchdown.

The critical part of the video is when the referee signals touchdown.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:14pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1