The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 29, 2009, 08:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 90
Rule 9-6-4d

I have a question about this rule:

Quote:
Rule 9-6-4d: It is illegal participation to use a player, replaced player, substitute, coach, trainer or other attendant in a substitution or pretended substitution to deceive opponents at or immediately before the snap or free kick.

Case Book 9.6.4 SITUATION B: Following a kickoff return, A1 and A2 enter the field while A3, A4 and A5 move toward the sideline. A5 stops within the 9-yard marks while A3 and A4 continue to the team box. The ball is snapped without a huddle and the quarterback throws a forward pass to A5, who has gone downfield as a wide receiver.
RULING: This play is illegal because a pretended substitution is used to deceive the opponents. The penalty of 15 yards for the illegal participation foul will be administered from the previous spot since the foul occured at the snap.
Does anyone know what the official interpretation of "at or immediately before" is for this rule?

PLAY: Fourth and 10 for A from A's 40-yard line. All 11 players for team A are within the 9-yard marks when the ball is marked ready for play. Immediately after the RFP, all 11 players, including A88, head toward the sideline as 10 substitutes run onto the field. As the 10 replaced players leave the field, A88 stops and gets set prior to leaving the field of play. A gets and remains set in a legal scrimmage kick formation for 15 seconds. The ball is snapped to A4, who throws a forward pass to A88, who is tackled at B's 40-yard line.

1) Does the 15 second delay between the pretended substitution and the snap excuse A88 from Rule 9-6-4d?

2) If so, how long must the delay between the act and the snap before 9-6-4d no longer applies?

3) If B recognizes and covers A88 prior to the snap, does this prevent illegal participation under 9-6-4d?

4) If B recognizes A88, but cannot get to him before the snap, do we have illegal participation?


A play similar to this actually occured in a game last week, and was brought up at our association meeting last night. The crew believes the play is legal. I do not know how long the delay was between the substitution and snap. I was the only one to argue 9-6-4d, but was quickly dismissed as confusing NCAA and NFHS rules.

Are there any plays in the supplemental books concerning this rule? I don't think I'm going to be able to convince many people with 9.6.4 SIT B, since everyone will be trying to focus on "kickoff return," "9-yard marks" and "without a huddle."
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 29, 2009, 09:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 28
pretend

The key there is that A88 is pretending to leave the field of play with other substitutes but does not in order to deceive the opponents. Unfortunately for the defense it does not happen "at or immediately before the snap."

When faced with these rules I tend to take out all the "ors" that don't apply in the given situation. It helps me see the exact situation as it presents itself and filter out the rest that can cause confusion. So as the rule applies to this situation the rule would read:

"It is illegal participation to use a player in a pretended substitution to deceive opponents immediately before the snap."

There is no magic definition for immediately before the snap that I am aware of. So it's up to the judgment of the officials as to make the call. 15 seconds seems like enough time for the defense to count 11 and make sure all players are defended. If I were the white hat in that situation the determining factor of "immediately before the snap" would be whether I felt that the defense was given sufficient time to recognize the formation, communicate a play call to all members of the defense, and then get into formation. If they have enough time to do that and fail to see A88 then kudos to A. It's all legal within the rules.

It's the same type of judgment call as the entire offensive line going from a 2 point to a 3 point stance on a hard "set" count in order to draw the defense into the neutral zone before the snap. It's that gray area covered in 7.1.7a "[It is a false start if] a shift or feigned charge simulates action at the snap". It's up to the official to determine whether the action is simulating the snap in order to draw the defensive player into the neutral zone.

At the end of the day, there are a lot of rules that aren't black and white (inasmuch as coaches, players, broadcasters and announcers would like all of them to be).

Last edited by JRod37; Thu Oct 29, 2009 at 09:30am. Reason: clarification
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 29, 2009, 09:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,153
9.6.4 SITUATION A: Several A substitutes enter the field between downs and
go to the team’s huddle, but one replaced player does not leave immediately and
is not detected. However, when they break the huddle the replaced player runs
toward his sideline and leaves the field just before the ball is snapped. RULING:
An illegal participation foul if the official judges that A was using a replaced player
or substitute in a substitution or pretended substitution to deceive the opponents.
If not, it is illegal substitution. COMMENT: It is becoming prevalent to see
more than 11 players/replaced players in a team’s huddle or in the defensive formation
between downs. The replaced player is to leave the field immediately and
in such a manner that it does not confuse or deceive the opponents. (3-7-1)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 29, 2009, 10:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 236
I beleive technically, by rule, it is legal. thatis it meets the mechanical rules (withine the 9yard mark,etc...Yet, at the same time illegal (I'm sure that helps) because the intent as I judge it here is to deceive the opponent. Of course play action pass is an attempt to deceive the opponet too...so go figure but I guess deception only applies to certain substitute situations...

This a quote from the casebook play you cited: Illegal "if the official judges that A was using a replaced player or substitute in a substitution or pretended substitution to deceive the opponents." Or, in other words, "legal" if not judged to be deceptive and (implied) it meats other rules restrictions

I am also thinking this is one of those that unless the crew was briefed before hand to watch for this it is going to slip by most crews, even experienced ones...

Bullycon are you in the Nashville area? Not sure why I think that but maybe something I read from one of your posts?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 29, 2009, 10:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by whitehat View Post
Bullycon are you in the Nashville area? Not sure why I think that but maybe something I read from one of your posts?
Chattanooga area. Big Titans and Predators fan, though.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 29, 2009, 10:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,153
COMMENT: It is becoming prevalent to see
more than 11 players/replaced players in a team’s huddle or in the defensive formation
between downs. The replaced player is to leave the field immediately and
in such a manner that it does not confuse or deceive the opponents. (3-7-1)
Edit/Delete Message
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 29, 2009, 12:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Maryland
Posts: 16
usually I go with the college interpertaion of 2-3 seconds to leave the huddle
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 29, 2009, 02:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 236
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bullycon View Post
Chattanooga area. Big Titans and Predators fan, though.
Bullyon, cool! I lived TN a long time ago and actually started my officiating career there in the early 80's just out of college. Worked with Tom Ritter (R in SEC now) for a few years before moving out west. Still have family in SE TN.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 30, 2009, 08:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,153
I think it is illegal no matter when the pretended sub is done. The deception is still part of the play and should be stopped. Unless the officials feel it is very plain and clear that A88 is not being subbed for.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rule 6 3O enforcement - 20 second pitch rule wadeintothem Softball 5 Tue Jun 30, 2009 03:33pm
Rule 1, The Forgotten Rule TxJim Football 14 Thu Jan 04, 2007 07:02pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:07pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1