![]() |
OU-Texas Punt Muff - Possession?
NCAA Rule 2-2-5-a
In Possession ARTICLE 5. “In possession’’ means the holding or controlling of a live ball or a ball to be free-kicked. It may refer either to player possession or team possession. a. A player gains possession when he secures the ball firmly by holding or controlling it while contacting the ground inbounds. The ball is then in player possession. Did the OU player have possession on the "muffed" punt? What say you? |
That's a muff for me, especially considering the SJ only had real time at his disposal - when you slow it down you can make the arguement for possesion. It also looked like the OU player was very, very close to being OOB when he muffed it.
I think the officials in that game have done simply outstanding given the complexity and intensity that some situations have brought. |
Quote:
|
| All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:05pm. |