![]() |
was the call correct?
Offense runs a sweep. O is holding, flag is thrown.
Defense strips the ball and runs for TD. During the TD run, there's a clip. Flag is thrown. The call... Offsetting live ball fouls repeat down. (no change of possesion) So... great strip and TD off the board because of other team's holding? |
On the change of possession play as you describe, since B (defense) got the ball prior to committing a foul (we used to call this the clean hands rule) they can keep the ball after declining the Hold by A (Offense) and then after enforcing the penatly for the clip on their "TD" run, it would be defense ball
1st and 10. no TD The only way this play would be offsetting penalties is if B accepted the holding penatly agsainst A (which they would not do). In that case the down would be replayed. |
Whitehat is absolutely correct. Remember you can always decline a penalty or yardage. As the ref, you would inform B that they will not get a TD, but to keep the ball they will have to decline the hold.
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:51pm. |