The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   illegal participation on the defense (https://forum.officiating.com/football/54973-illegal-participation-defense.html)

verticalStripes Sat Oct 10, 2009 05:56pm

illegal participation on the defense
 
Fed rules:

The BJ missed his count before the snap. A had the ball 1st and 10 on the 50 yardline. The results of the play was a 30 yard run to the B 20 yardline. After the play, the BJ throws a flag for 12 men participating on defense. What is the enforcement?

Thanks in advance.

schmitty1973 Sat Oct 10, 2009 06:56pm

Half the distance to the goal, 1st down for A at the 10. Then you tell your BJ and LJ (with a smile of course) to get their S#$^ together and count while B is in the huddle.

JRutledge Sat Oct 10, 2009 07:15pm

This is the team's fault, not the Back Judges fault. And depending on the nature of the substitution, it might have been very late to get a count before.

And the biggest fallacy is that the defense actually huddles. Defenses often do not huddle and they have players running all over the place for substitutions. And if you use a common philosophy, you give the defense some time to get players on and off the field. And if you are doing the counting right, there should be someone else other than the BJ doing counting as well.

Peace

verticalStripes Sat Oct 10, 2009 07:45pm

We debated whether the enforcement spot would be the previous spot because the "foul occured simultaneously with the snap".

JRutledge Sat Oct 10, 2009 08:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by verticalStripes (Post 630152)
We debated whether the enforcement spot would be the previous spot because the "foul occured simultaneously with the snap".

Well these would be previous spot enforcements.

Peace

Welpe Sat Oct 10, 2009 08:13pm

Correct, this is previous spot since the foul is simultaneous with the snap. If the player entered during the down and participated, you'd enforce via all but one.

whitehat Sat Oct 10, 2009 11:05pm

I'm going with previous spot enforcement.
Choices: A could decline and take results of play and have 1/10 at B's 20 or accept penalty and have 1/10 from B's 35.

SC Ump Sun Oct 11, 2009 05:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by verticalStripes (Post 630143)
The BJ missed his count before the snap... After the play, the BJ throws a flag for 12 men participating...

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 630157)
Correct, this is previous spot since the foul is simultaneous with the snap. If the player entered during the down and participated, you'd enforce via all but one.

If BJ missed his count and didn't notice it until at the end of the play, how does he know if player entered during play or was there all along?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:35pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1