![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Assuming the rulebook is written the same way in Denmark as it is in Texas the following rule states:
Rule 6, Article 6.a: [... ] If the ball is caught or conquered by the kicking team, the ball becomes dead. This means that for question 1-3 the kicking team can NOT advance the ball. HOWEVER: When the receiving team gains possession of the ball it is no longer a "kicking-play" but a return. So if the receiving team fumbles it is just like an interception return and at the kicking team can recover and advance the ball. So question 4: kicking team CAN advance. |
|
|||
|
There's a simple way to look at it. The kick remains a kick until it comes into a player's possession or becomes dead; any other touching short of possession leaves it as a kick. If it becomes dead, then that answers all the other questions. If a free kick ends in a player's possession, if it's a player of the kicking team, it's also dead. If it's a player of the receiving team, then since it's no longer a free kick, any later loose ball or change of possession is ruled under the rules for that kind of loose ball or possession change.
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
| Tags |
| advancement, free kick |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Another Kick question (free kick) | referee20 | Football | 15 | Wed Sep 16, 2009 08:14pm |
| Encorachment on the kicking team....or not? | Illini_Ref | Football | 2 | Sat Oct 18, 2008 03:27pm |
| Free Kick | FATUMP | Football | 15 | Thu Dec 06, 2007 12:20pm |
| Free Kick | chayos | Football | 8 | Sun Oct 05, 2003 08:41pm |
| Punt Fielded By Kicking Team Near Goal Line | DrWorm | Football | 13 | Tue Sep 30, 2003 08:57am |