![]() |
Fumble ?
A 1 and Goal - fumbles ball into end zone where B in a scrumb bats it out of the endzone accidentally. I've got a touchback - yes or no?:confused:
|
A's force of the fumble actually put the ball into the endzone. Touchback
|
The result of the play would be a touchback since A's fumble was the force that put the ball in the endzone. However, did B muff the fumble out of the endzone, or did he illegally bat it out? If you judge that he illegally batted it, the penalty would be assessed half the distance to the goal from the end of the run or previous spot (depending on where the fumble occured) and replay the down.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
You can't "accidentally bat" a ball. A bat is an intentional act.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Keep it simple. Force only applies to the ball being put into the end zone which in this case was the fumble. After the ball is in the end zone, no new force can apply. A simple attempt to recover the ball is not illegal or changes the status of the ball that was already in the end zone.
Peace |
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Peace |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:30pm. |