The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Force?????? (https://forum.officiating.com/football/54893-force.html)

kdf5 Mon Oct 05, 2009 01:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MI Official (Post 628983)
Yes, fumble into the endzone. But it wasnt declared dead with no team in possession, its not a kick, and it wasnt airborne. Nor, IMO, was the original force sufficient to make the ball go out the back of the endzone.

I defintely see that a new force was exerted, albeit in the general direction of the original force.

Again, if it were a punt and B touched and thus rolled into Rs EZ with possession would we not consider this a new force and put it into play at the 20 even if we knew the ball' s original force would have resulted in a dead ball in the field of play? because it is a grounded kick, fumble, or backwards pass.

Force only counts from the field of play across the goal line. Once it crosses the goal line the force has been determined and it will either be a safety or a TB. In the video it's A's fumble that causes it to cross the GL, therefore it's going to be a safety no matter what B does to it AFTER it crossed the GL.

NorCalRef12 Mon Oct 05, 2009 02:53pm

Many of you seem to be upset that B is at an advantage because all they have to do is get the ball out of the back of the end zone for this play to be ruled a safety.

A fumbled so A was responsible for putting it across his own goal line. Now that it is there, B76's muff is irrelevant because the ball was already in the end zone.

Since this is a grounded fumble, B is still prohibited from batting or kicking the ball out of the back of the end zone. If a player of B commits one of these fouls then A will have the option of taking the result of the play (a safety), or enforcing a 15 yard penalty on B from the previous spot.

mbyron Mon Oct 05, 2009 05:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by kdf5 (Post 628995)
In the video it's A's fumble that causes it to cross the GL, therefore it's going to be a safety no matter what B does to it AFTER it crossed the GL.

Are you sure? What if B recovers it after it enters the EZ?

kdf5 Mon Oct 05, 2009 08:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 629058)
Are you sure? What if B recovers it after it enters the EZ?

I was referring to the video.

mbyron Tue Oct 06, 2009 06:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by kdf5 (Post 629102)
I was referring to the video.

OK. And you said "no matter what," which encompasses all possibilities. And there's another possibility besides safety on this play.

MI Official Tue Oct 06, 2009 08:23am

So after reading the replies ( all good btw, that is why I use this forum)

It appears that once a ball has crossed a goal line, regardless of any subsequent action(s) it has to be a safety or TD??????

Welpe Tue Oct 06, 2009 08:46am

Quote:

Originally Posted by MI Official (Post 629164)

It appears that once a ball has crossed a goal line, regardless of any subsequent action(s) it has to be a safety or TD??????

In this case, yes. Well, A could also recover and run it out of the endzone.

kdf5 Tue Oct 06, 2009 10:16am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 629144)
OK. And you said "no matter what," which encompasses all possibilities. And there's another possibility besides safety on this play.

I understand your point. However, I am referring to what happened in the video, not what could have happened.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:43am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1