Quote:
Originally Posted by Refsmitty
Can a kick team catch a free kick after going 10 yards but before it is grounded? My thought is a penalty for KCI according to Rule 6.1.6
|
Correct, anytime K catches a free kick in flight it is KCI. This applies even when no R player is in a position to catch the ball. R can have all of it's players 30 yards away, not moving towards the ball and this would still be KCI.
The BJ (or whoever is watching the ball on K's restraining line) should pay attention to whether or not the kicker topped the ball and bounced it up into the air. When in doubt, throw the flag for KCI and wave it off if the covering official says the ball hit the ground first.