The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Brain Fart - Help (https://forum.officiating.com/football/54820-brain-fart-help.html)

kd0254 Wed Sep 30, 2009 01:16pm

Brain Fart - Help
 
Team K punts on 4th and 10 from their own 20 yard line. R55 muffs the kick at the K25 yard line where K88 recovers.

I know K can't advance cause it is still a kick and I am 99.9% sure that K gets a new series after R touched the kick and K recovered, even though it is still behind the line to gain.

I keep second guessing myself -

Thoughts.

Bullycon Wed Sep 30, 2009 01:20pm

You are correct, sir.

5-1-3: When a scrimmage down ends with the ball in the field of play or out of bounds between the goal lines, a new series is awarded to:
f. The team in possession at the end of the down, if R is the first to touch a scrimmage kick while it is beyond the expanded neutral zone, unless the penalty is accepted for a non post-scrimmage kick foul which occurred before the kick ended.

RULING: 1st and 10 for K from K's 25 yard line.

kd0254 Wed Sep 30, 2009 01:25pm

Thanks, I needed to hear that !

insatty Wed Sep 30, 2009 01:26pm

When in doubt, read the rule:

"When a scrimmage down ends with the ball in the field of play . . . a new is awarded to . . . [t]he team in possession at the end of the down, if R is the first to touch a scrimmage kick while it is beyond the expanded neutral zone . . . ." NFHS 5-1-3-f; accord, NCAA 5-1-1-e.

mbyron Wed Sep 30, 2009 06:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by kd0254 (Post 628087)
I know K can't advance cause it is still a kick ...

Right ruling, wrong reason. K can't advance because they recovered the muff beyond the neutral zone. If the ball had rolled back 5 more yards they could have advanced it.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:17pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1