The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Bizarre ending should actually have been touchback, right? (https://forum.officiating.com/football/54818-bizarre-ending-should-actually-have-been-touchback-right.html)

rockchalk jhawk Wed Sep 30, 2009 09:35am

Bizarre ending should actually have been touchback, right?
 
See this article...

Alert play leads to bizarre ending in Vermont football game - MaxPreps Articles

Now, I've worked varsity FB for a few years now, and every time we pre-game, we discuss that any punt or FG attempt that crosses the goal line dead and considered a touchback. After reading the article, can we safely assume that somebody botched this one or am I really missing something? :confused:

bigjohn Wed Sep 30, 2009 09:41am

Bashing officials is frowned on at this forum you know!:rolleyes:

mbyron Wed Sep 30, 2009 09:44am

Do we know what rule code applies? NCAA and NFHS are different on this point, I believe.

rockchalk jhawk Wed Sep 30, 2009 09:45am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigjohn (Post 628038)
Bashing officials is frowned on at this forum you know!:rolleyes:

Did you miss the part where I clearly stated that I'm a varsity football official?

I'm not bashing, I'm asking for clarification for my own education and to make sure I'm not missing something.

Just because you've never seen me of the football forum doesn't mean that I'm coming on here and official bashing. Paranoid much? :rolleyes:

InsideTheStripe Wed Sep 30, 2009 09:46am

I've yet to see any video that shows the ball breaking the vertical plane of the goal line. I have heard conflicting reports on whether or not it did. I'll reserve judgement until I see conclusive video.

rockchalk jhawk Wed Sep 30, 2009 09:47am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 628039)
Do we know what rule code applies? NCAA and NFHS are different on this point, I believe.

The article says it was a high school game, so I assume NFHS unless anybody knows if VT uses NCAA rules... That could make sense I guess...

a4caster Wed Sep 30, 2009 09:47am

If you really want to dissect this thing, we have an illegal forward pass as well!! Of course, if it was described correctly in the paper, that is ignored because, as was said before, breaks the plane, call it dead. But htbt.

InsideTheStripe Wed Sep 30, 2009 09:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rockchalk jhawk (Post 628040)
Just because you've never seen me of the football forum doesn't mean that I'm coming on here and official bashing. Paranoid much? :rolleyes:

He's a coach who got lambasted by someone for publicly criticizing his game officials in violation of the NFHS Coaches Code of Ethics. After taking his ball and stomping away for the NFHS forum, it's his new schtick to point out anytime anyone criticizes officiating on other forums.

mbyron Wed Sep 30, 2009 09:50am

According to this site, Vermont uses NFHS rules.

Bullycon Wed Sep 30, 2009 10:02am

Video of the play:

Leon Lett Is Finally Off The Hook - Oops - Deadspin

I cannot see that the ball clearly crossed the goal line from that angle. One of the officials should have rushed forward to the goal line to make sure the ball did not break the plane.

The spike also appears to have travelled backwards.

Until I see an angle that clearly shows the ball crossing the line, I say it's a touchdown.

mbyron Wed Sep 30, 2009 10:11am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bullycon (Post 628049)
Until I see an angle that clearly shows the ball crossing the line, I say it's a touchdown.

I agree. Here's a still of the catch, and it looks as if the receiver is NOT in the endzone. The front pylon is behind the receiver.

http://img101.imageshack.us/img101/3...90930at110.png

whitehat Wed Sep 30, 2009 10:21am

Hard to tell from the video if ball was in EZ. According to the article it was in the EZ and if so the ball is dead as soon as it breaks the plane.

kdf5 Wed Sep 30, 2009 10:24am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigjohn (Post 628038)
Bashing officials is frowned on at this forum you know!:rolleyes:

John: bashing officials isn't frowned upon. Naming names, dates, places is frowned upon.

bigjohn Wed Sep 30, 2009 10:27am

well the article in the OP definitely names names.

rockchalk jhawk Wed Sep 30, 2009 10:32am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigjohn (Post 628057)
well the article in the OP definitely names names.

it names the name of the alert player who scooped it up and ran it for a touchdown (kudos for him, he deserves to be named), not the name of the player who goofed by spiking the ball.

you really are a troll, aren't you?

http://alanisgood.com/wp-content/upl...eed_trolls.jpg

bigjohn Wed Sep 30, 2009 10:36am

The kick was about five yards short and was fielded in the end zone by an Otter Valley player who ran it out to his 11, where he spiked the ball and began celebrating.

mbyron Wed Sep 30, 2009 10:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigjohn (Post 628061)
The kick was about five yards short and was fielded in the end zone by an Otter Valley player who ran it out to his 11, where he spiked the ball and began celebrating.

Says who? As I see it, the kick was 12-15 yards short and fielded around the 3 yard line.

JRutledge Wed Sep 30, 2009 10:57am

Either way, the ball was not blown dead (which is a judgment of the officials) and the player threw the ball down backwards as he approached near the 10 yard line. This is not an illegal pass; this is a backward pass which would make the play still live. The video was really hard to tell where the lines were. But the officials did not stop officiating and ruled this a TD.

I guess the Referee should have had a conversation with the two officials that were standing right there and everything would have been resolved. ;)

Peace

kdf5 Wed Sep 30, 2009 11:02am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigjohn (Post 628057)
well the article in the OP definitely names names.

I understand that and we're all guilty but you would be opposed to us posting your screw ups on a coaching site and logging on only to see others dissecting your stupidity. I think we've all gotten away from that little bit of decorum.

bossman72 Wed Sep 30, 2009 11:06am

why the F was the fielding the kick anyway? that's just 4 kinds of retarded right there

Ref Ump Welsch Wed Sep 30, 2009 11:31am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bossman72 (Post 628068)
why the F was the fielding the kick anyway? that's just 4 kinds of retarded right there

:confused:

NorCalRef12 Wed Sep 30, 2009 01:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 628063)
Says who? As I see it, the kick was 12-15 yards short and fielded around the 3 yard line.


I think you're looking at the picture that was posted incorrectly. The picture from earlier in the post shows three pylons, the one all the way on the left is in line with the inbounds marks, the center pylon is at the back corner, and the goal line pylon is all the way on the right.

That picture, plus the REPORT that it was caught 5 yards deep seems is proof enough for me that the crew booted the call. The BJ should have been able to see an R player catching the ball in the EZ.

Since it is clear the receiver did not have 15' arms it should have been easy to rule this as being in the EZ.

l3will Wed Sep 30, 2009 02:05pm

Mechanics....
 
So what mechanics does your crew use to make sure this doesn't happen to you???

Just mentioning this because I can imagine that most crews would not have anyone on
the goal line or anyone who can get there quickly.

When it is apparent that the kick is going to be short, does your BJ try to get to the goal line??

I can see where this could easily be blown if R was coming out of the endzone and
caught the ball close to the goal line.

Adam Wed Sep 30, 2009 02:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by NorCalRef12 (Post 628088)
I think you're looking at the picture that was posted incorrectly. The picture from earlier in the post shows three pylons, the one all the way on the left is in line with the inbounds marks, the center pylon is at the back corner, and the goal line pylon is all the way on the right.

That picture, plus the REPORT that it was caught 5 yards deep seems is proof enough for me that the crew booted the call. The BJ should have been able to see an R player catching the ball in the EZ.

Since it is clear the receiver did not have 15' arms it should have been easy to rule this as being in the EZ.

I'm a basketball guy, but I watched the video and I would dispute the report that it was fielded 5 yards deep. I don't typically trust reporters with those types of details, though.
If it was in the endzone, it was close.

Patton Wed Sep 30, 2009 02:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by NorCalRef12 (Post 628088)
I think you're looking at the picture that was posted incorrectly. The picture from earlier in the post shows three pylons, the one all the way on the left is in line with the inbounds marks, the center pylon is at the back corner, and the goal line pylon is all the way on the right.

That picture, plus the REPORT that it was caught 5 yards deep seems is proof enough for me that the crew booted the call. The BJ should have been able to see an R player catching the ball in the EZ.

Since it is clear the receiver did not have 15' arms it should have been easy to rule this as being in the EZ.

NorCal...Don't be so quick to throw these guys under the bus. You should know that reporters frequently "get it wrong".

Take another look at the video and take notice of the shadows on the field. In particular, notice where the officials signal the TD (assuming they're on the GL) and where the receiver fields the ball. I believe he is very close to the GL and probably at the 1-2 yd line. I also agree with others that he throws a backwards pass, not an IFP.

This would have been an extremely difficult play to officiate and virtually impossible to have everyone in a perfect vantage point to rule on everything. That said, I think they got it right. The reporter definetely didn't.

chymechowder Wed Sep 30, 2009 11:14pm

question from a HS official in Mass., where a scrimmage kick needs to touch the GROUND on or behind Team B's goal line for it to be a dead ball. (and not having been touched by Team B before hitting the ground.)

you're talking about the field goal attempt becoming dead by rule once it crosses the goal line. is that a special rule just for FG attempts? or does it apply to all srimmage kicks?

(It would seem odd to me that there can be no returns of punts fielded in the endzone). thanks

Welpe Wed Sep 30, 2009 11:17pm

chyme, it applies to ALL legal kicks, both scrimmage and free kicks. As soon as the kick breaks the plane of the goal line, the ball is dead and it is a touchback for B.

NorCalRef12 Thu Oct 01, 2009 01:16am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Patton (Post 628108)
NorCal...Don't be so quick to throw these guys under the bus. You should know that reporters frequently "get it wrong".

We're on a forum with anonymous screen names, I thought we were supposed to throw people under the bus! If we can't do it here then where can we do it?

In all seriousness though, I looked at where it was caught, right near the end of the shadows, then I looked where the ref was when he signalled TD, also seemed to be in line with the end of the shadows.

So yes, I'm probably guilty of believing the news report that it was kicked 5 yards deep into the EZ. But then again, I'm 3500 miles away and I trust everything that they say on the news! :p

JugglingReferee Thu Oct 01, 2009 04:55am

Local news coverage.


Video - WCAX.COM Local Vermont News, Weather and Sports-

JRutledge Thu Oct 01, 2009 05:45am

This looks very short actually. The ball carrier only takes a few steps and they are at the 10 yard line. I cannot tell definitively, but the officials were right there and I was not.

Peace

Canned Heat Thu Oct 01, 2009 08:47am

Maybe I'm seeing things, but if you pause it at the :19 mark, it looks as if he catches the scrimmage kick attempt at about the 2 or 3 yard line (I think I see goal line and 5 yard line on each side of the players...look at pylons, too) and advances to the 12 and then spikes it backwards...where it is picked up and returned for TD. Looks like a good call and score to me.

As for how we would handle that....In 5 man we would obviously have 2 men back under the posts for the FG attempt. When it was certain to be short by the BJ (or LJ) he would run up from the posts and make sure the ball did or did not cross the goal line (becoming dead) and either kill it or bag the spot and point the other way towards us so we knew we had a live ball situation. In 4 man (JV/FR) we would have LJ back and white hat catching the other post. LJ would run up to rule on ball crossing the GL and becoming dead or still live..as is what happened here. Good goal line reaction by BJ & LJ from the posts.

Also...is that an inadvertant whistle I hear right before the score..?

Ref Ump Welsch Thu Oct 01, 2009 08:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee (Post 628181)

Interesting...this looks like the same video someone else posted on the thread already. But what made me chuckle was, there was a commercial for an insurance company before they showed the video. Maybe the losing team should have bought insurance against kids being stupid and "throwing" the game away. (pun intended here!) :p

Rich Thu Oct 01, 2009 09:21am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Canned Heat (Post 628215)
Maybe I'm seeing things, but if you pause it at the :19 mark, it looks as if he catches the scrimmage kick attempt at about the 2 or 3 yard line (I think I see goal line and 5 yard line on each side of the players...look at pylons, too) and advances to the 12 and then spikes it backwards...where it is picked up and returned for TD. Looks like a good call and score to me.

As for how we would handle that....In 5 man we would obviously have 2 men back under the posts for the FG attempt. When it was certain to be short by the BJ (or LJ) he would run up from the posts and make sure the ball did or did not cross the goal line (becoming dead) and either kill it or bag the spot and point the other way towards us so we knew we had a live ball situation. In 4 man (JV/FR) we would have LJ back and white hat catching the other post. LJ would run up to rule on ball crossing the GL and becoming dead or still live..as is what happened here. I didn't notice...were there any covering officials at the posts for the FG?

Also...is that an inadvertant whistle I hear right before the score..?

In 4-man we put the LJ on the end line, but not under a post -- he has only the crossbar and gives the R a thinbs up or thumbs down. That way the wing can get to the open goal line pylon. The R calls both uprights (lining up behind the kick) and the L handles the roughing of the kicker and holder.

whitehat Thu Oct 01, 2009 09:29am

Quote:

Originally Posted by chymechowder (Post 628164)
question from a HS official in Mass., where a scrimmage kick needs to touch the GROUND on or behind Team B's goal line for it to be a dead ball. (and not having been touched by Team B before hitting the ground.)

you're talking about the field goal attempt becoming dead by rule once it crosses the goal line. is that a special rule just for FG attempts? or does it apply to all srimmage kicks?

(It would seem odd to me that there can be no returns of punts fielded in the endzone). thanks

If I'm not mistaken Mass and Texas use NCAA rules for football. I am sure Texas does. The rule is different for NF than for NCAA. NF as soon as the ball breaks the plane of the goal line on all kicks entereing R's EZ it is dead.

Canned Heat Thu Oct 01, 2009 09:33am

Quote:

Originally Posted by RichMSN (Post 628225)
In 4-man we put the LJ on the end line, but not under a post -- he has only the crossbar and gives the R a thinbs up or thumbs down. That way the wing can get to the open goal line pylon. The R calls both uprights (lining up behind the kick) and the L handles the roughing of the kicker and holder.

Is your umpire still up, and does he shade to a side or help out after the kick is gone? Our LJ that is back will take that open side in case we have a "fire sale" or fake and try to get over there. We had a FG try a few weeks ago where the ball skipped off the right GP, went down and thru, hit the support beam running to the ground and spun backwards out. When I called it good, you should've seen the sideline and crowd ruckus. Lots of people were howling about my former physics education.

Had I not had a guy back to see all of that, I may have ruled that no good on my own account. I'm at the same venue tonight fist time since.

bigjohn Thu Oct 01, 2009 10:04am

http://i33.tinypic.com/2jd5ca1.jpg

Looks like it crossed the GL to me!

bigjohn Thu Oct 01, 2009 10:06am

Video - WCAX.COM Local Vermont News, Weather and Sports-

mbyron Thu Oct 01, 2009 10:13am

Repost that image a few more times. It really strengthens your argument that the officials blew it. :rolleyes:

ajmc Thu Oct 01, 2009 10:34am

For what it's worth, our 4 man crew hates the recommended try/short FG mechanic that has the LJ on the LOS and moving to the GL, on the flank, to call over/under. We've decided to focus on the 95% and deal with the busted play, fire-drill when it happens, and stay with what we know works.

The LJ is near his post, by the end line focused on responding to a kick try. The Umpire shades towards the LJ's sideline. If the play breaks down, the Umpire takes responsibility for the Goal line on the LJ's side (from the inside out), and the LJ gets to the corner of the End Line and Sideline, to cover the sideline. That's how we had done it for years, have never had a problem collaborating the few times needed and are a lot more comfortable that we're able to cover the entire play a lot better.

bigjohn Thu Oct 01, 2009 10:40am

Sure strengthens the arguement that the officials had poor mechanics, don't you think?

:eek:

bossman72 Thu Oct 01, 2009 11:10am

Did some Zappreuder analysis of this film.

Note this image - check out the shadow left by the tree noted by the green arrow.

http://i34.tinypic.com/dq2ccg.png

Now, ASSUMING both referees are on the goal line, we can draw an approximate goal line, which cuts right above the shadow landmark.

http://i34.tinypic.com/zlcdx5.png


So, it looks like this is VERY close to the goal line (not 5 yds in) and the referees probably weren't positive the ball crossed the plain, so they let it go.

Note: the camera may have moved a little from it's original position on about the 7 to about the 4, so the parallax/angle may be off a little.

How's that for analysis?

asdf Thu Oct 01, 2009 11:24am

You cannot tell for sure here, we all (well except for one) seem to agree.

Go to the spot in the film where the catch is made and then look at the official signaling TD in the middle of the field. Use the shadows for a reference pont.

It's certainly close, but I'd lean towards the ball not breaking the plane.

It may have been stated prior, and if it was, I apologize for repeating this...

If the player leaves the ball alone.... it would not have mattered.

ajmc Thu Oct 01, 2009 12:21pm

If you really insist on there being blame placed somewhere, perhaps it should be directed at the assistant coach whose responsibility it was to teach all his players that after each play, the ball should be handed to the nearest official and NEVER thrown to the ground, in any direction.

bigjohn Thu Oct 01, 2009 12:45pm

No, the special teams coordinator should never have someone deeper than the 10 yard line on any Scrimmage Kick! Period.

Mike L Thu Oct 01, 2009 12:46pm

I guess my main concern is why neither under the post official moved once it was obvious the kick was way short. If I'm under & see defenders back there I'm thinking the kick is going to be short and these idiots are going to field it. If you go into a play thinking the strange is going to happen, you rarely get surprised by it.

bigjohn Thu Oct 01, 2009 12:58pm

All I can say is hey bossman, "Back and to the left"!
:D

Husker John Fri Oct 02, 2009 09:00am

Here's the video
 
Here is the video. Judging from the TV anchorman, he says its kicked in the endzone but I don't think he was at the game. If he is in the endzone, its not by much.

I think he was in the endzone. I base this on the shadows. If you freeze the video where the back catches the ball, you can see the shadow. After the fumble is returned for a TD, the video shows the goal line. Its not exactly clear but I think he was in.

However, I will take the opinion of two officials that were in position to determine if the kick was good. At most, they were only 10 yards away.

Vermont football team wins after crazy fumble recovery - Shutdown Corner - NFL - Yahoo! Sports

BigFarns Sun Oct 04, 2009 07:36pm

I used to live in Vermont and I know someone who used to go to Otter Valley. They happen to be at the game and said it was caught at the 2. Take it for what it's worth but it would make sense if this is true. I find it hard to believe 5 man crew would not have been able to remember the rule about a scrimmage kick breaking the plane of the end zone.

ChicagoLJ Sun Oct 04, 2009 10:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ajmc (Post 628305)
If you really insist on there being blame placed somewhere, perhaps it should be directed at the assistant coach whose responsibility it was to teach all his players that after each play, the ball should be handed to the nearest official and NEVER thrown to the ground, in any direction.

Interesting twist. What happens if he wants to do that, but either a. referee doesn't take it from him, or b. official has his hands on the ball.

What say you now?

Canned Heat Sun Oct 04, 2009 10:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ChicagoLJ (Post 628818)
Interesting twist. What happens if he wants to do that, but either a. referee doesn't take it from him, or b. official has his hands on the ball.

What say you now?

Interesting all right. If I'm the one he's getting the ball too, I pull my hands up and back away, and hopefully he gets the hint that the ball is still live....and hopefully I haven't touched it, although it would remain live. Odds are, he'll run by...toss you the ball on the way by...and watch the same result unfold...unless the ball bounces OOB. As far as a ruling in B, I'd guess it would become dead at the spot once the official is in possession of the ball.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:29pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1