The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   NFHS - Out of Bounds (https://forum.officiating.com/football/54800-nfhs-out-bounds.html)

john_faz Mon Sep 28, 2009 12:27pm

NFHS - Out of Bounds
 
I am unclear about what to call in the following situation:

A Wide Receiver steps on the sideline and then returns in bounds and is the first to touch a pass in flight. Is this Illegal Participation or Illegal Touching? Also, would the ruling change if the Wide Receiver was bloacked out of bounds by the defense.

Thanks for your help.

ajmc Mon Sep 28, 2009 12:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by john_faz (Post 627652)
I am unclear about what to call in the following situation:

A Wide Receiver steps on the sideline and then returns in bounds and is the first to touch a pass in flight. Is this Illegal Participation or Illegal Touching? Also, would the ruling change if the Wide Receiver was bloacked out of bounds by the defense.

Thanks for your help.

John, if you really want to understand the answer to your question you need to study and understand NFHS: 9-6. It explains the different restrictions on players being OOB and when they can return legally.

As for Illegal touching NF: 7-5-13 explains that is a foul that applies to ineligible A players. Eligibility is determined by player number and position and "a player who is eligible at the start of the down remains eligible throughout the down (NF: 7-5-6-d).

To answer both your questions;" No player of a or K shall go out of bounds and return during the down unless blocked out of bounds by an opponent. If a player is blocked out of bounds by an opponent and returns inbounds during the down, he shall return at the first opportunity." (NF: 9-6-1)

mbyron Mon Sep 28, 2009 12:45pm

Illegal participation.

Quote:

Originally Posted by 2009 Case Book
9.6.1 SITUATION A

COMMENT
: When A1 goes out of bounds voluntarily or by
accident, or delays his return after being blocked out by an opponent, he commits
an illegal participation foul when he returns inbounds. The spot of the foul
is where he returns inbounds. (10-2-1)


bossman72 Mon Sep 28, 2009 07:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by john_faz (Post 627652)
I am unclear about what to call in the following situation:

A Wide Receiver steps on the sideline and then returns in bounds and is the first to touch a pass in flight. Is this Illegal Participation or Illegal Touching? Also, would the ruling change if the Wide Receiver was bloacked out of bounds by the defense.

Thanks for your help.

The foul is in returning, not being the first to touch the ball.

So, if A88 accidentally steps on the line, then goes up for a pass, and B49 bats the pass away and A88 never touched it - it's still a foul.

HLin NC Mon Sep 28, 2009 09:10pm

First to touch is a college and pro rule. Wipe them from our mind until you get the HS rules down.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:01pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1